Cast Iron Cookware: The Only Cookware You'll EVER Need!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1208.JPG

At our homestead we use cast iron and enamelled cast iron for all of our cooking. There really isn’t anything that you can’t cook in a well seasoned cast iron pan. Eggs, waffles, bread and even tomato sauce! You name it and a cast iron pan can handle it. The more you use you pan, the better seasoned it will become.

My son started me on the cast iron journey. He was six years old and was Christmas shopping with his dad when he decided that this little cast iron pan was to be my gift. He is 22 now and one day I'll be able to hand that pan down to him as an heirloom.

IMG_1495.jpg

Vintage Versus Modern Cast Iron

Before you go out and buy a collection of cast iron you should know that they are not equal in quality. The best cast iron pans are often vintage. Vintage pans are lighter and have a smoother cooking surface. They've been carefully smoothed down to create a natural non stick surface. They are wonderful to cook with.

New cast iron pans are usually heavier and have a rougher surface. Don't get me wrong, they are still great pans and I use them often. I am quite happy with them but my old pans are better.

You can hunt for old pans at flea markets, antique stores, auctions, and in friends and families basements! Start asking around!

IMG_1483.jpg

Modern Cast Iron Built The Old Fashioned Way

If you can’t find old pans, there are a small number of companies that are producing cast iron pans the old fashioned way. Considering the pan will last forever, it’s a pretty good investment. I have not tried them, but if you want to find out more here are the websites: Smithey Iron Ware & The Field Company both make beautiful cast iron, made in America!

Variety

You can find cast iron pans to fit every kitchen need. From every size of skillet to woks, pizza trays, bread and muffin tins and so on. You can also find enamelled cast iron which is a great choice for Dutch ovens.

Cook Anything, Anywhere, With Cast Iron

Cast iron is really versatile, You can use it in your kitchen, over a fire pit or on a BBQ. A cast iron pan can easily become a family heirloom lasting centuries. One thing I love about cast iron is how well they hold the heat. I can take a pan from oven to table providing piping hot meals.

The smaller individual pans are perfect for serving individual Shepard’s pie, stews, baked omelettes and waffles.

Nutritional Iron Deficiency

One of the easiest options to get more iron in your diet or to deal with iron deficiency is by cooking with cast iron cookware. Studies have shown that there can be an increase of 16.2% in the iron content of food cooked using cast iron.

Cast Iron Care

Contrary to what you might have heard, cast iron is easy to care for. Rinse with hot water and a rub lightly with a cloth or nylon scouring pad. Don't rub too hard. Dry thoroughly and rub with a good coating of oil. The oil will prevent rust from any moisture in the air. that's all there is to it!

IMG_1499.jpg

Never put your cast iron in a dishwasher or a sink filled with water. Avoid the use of soap.

Rust

If you do get a touch of rust, don't worry. Just gently use a scouring pad to remove the rust, rinse the pan and rub with oil.

Re-seasoning or Restoring Vintage Pans

I have seen amazing examples of horribly rusted cast iron pans being restored and they truly look like new again. Re-seasoning a pan is really easy. You can do this in an oven but we prefer to do it outside using the barbecue.

  • Use a stiff brush and scrub away the rust and build up with hot soapy water
  • Rinse well and dry thoroughly
  • Rub a coat of vegetable shortening on all surfaces of the pan
  • Place a drip tray on the bottom rack of your oven
  • Place your pan upside down in the oven
  • Bake for two hours at 400F
  • Allow to cool completely before removing from oven

You can repeat this process a few more times to build up the non stick seasoning if desired. You can also do this occasionally with you pans if you feel that the seasoning is wearing thin.

The Trick to Eggs

Some people have trouble with eggs in cast iron pans: they are all making the same mistake, which is a pan that is too cold. If you heat up your oil properly before putting eggs in, you'll have a cooking surface that is incredibly slick, as good as teflon. Things only go poorly, with eggs, when you try to cook them without adequately heating the pan.

Use it in a Fire Pit

Go ahead and use your pan on an open fire. Just be careful it doesn't get too hot. I once made the mistake of letting that happen, and we had to re-season the pan. Otherwise, cast iron is wonderful for cooking with over a campfire.

Cast Iron Skillet Buns Recipe

Here's a recipe for quick and easy skillet buns from walkerland: Get the recipe here!

IMG_1196.JPG

Sources & Resources

Lodge Cast Iron | Smithey Ironware Co | The Field Company | University Health News Walkerland


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

Sort:  

I really appreciate the tip about vintage pans and the links for modern companies making the pans the old fashioned way. I’ve felt crazy at times because using my (modern) cast iron pan has NOT been like what I remember from cooking with my mom’s and great grandmother’s pans! No matter how often or how carefully I season the thing!! Thank you so much!

They really are quite different. My vintage pans are smooth when I run my hands over them and the lodge pans are very porous and rough. I am glad I could help. I would love some of those pans but I have a whole wall full already and don't really need any and can't justify it :) If you buy one be sure to let me know how it is!!

I love cast iron. We purchased ours at flea markets and thrift stores. Some I restored and I will never use anything else. Great post.

Thanks! It's nice to see so many people who are fans of cast iron!

Thank You, Great post, I have an iron skillet I have not used, I will use it now with the help from your post.

Great to hear! I am confident that you'll love it.

Great info on using cast iron cook ware.

I love 💖💖 my cast iron.
I use them for almost everything.

so glad to read that there are others in the "cast iron fan club"!

I do love, love, love my cast iron pans!

i found two little cat iron skillets that i have been meaning to scrub up and get ready for use - this weekend, for sure!

also, thank you for the reminder about how to make eggs. those are the biggest failures of my cast iron cooking experiences. i need to remember to NOT be impatient!

yeah, stuck on eggs are no fun. A well seasoned pan really makes a difference as well.

Great post! I have found that seasoning with vegetable oil causes rancidity since vegetable oils cant take a high heat while staying stable. have you ever experienced that? I use lard for seasoning our cast iron... Ohhh you are so right, vintage is best!!!

you know, I use olive oil a fair bit because it's handy but I'll rub whatever oil I have around, and it's never been an issue. I don't think I've ever had the oil go rancid .. luck maybe? I use our pans a lot and they are hung up with lots of air circulation.

That's awesome!!!

oh, I forgot to mention, for seasoning look up 100% natural flax seed oil. There are some articles about it and apparently it creates an outstanding finish. I haven't tried it yet but ill do once it summer and I can season the pans outside.

My wife swears by her cast iron skillets. One time however she was castigated by a so called chef for making spaghetti sauce in it. He told her "any chef worth their salt knows never to cook tomato based foods in cast iron". She let him know quickly that she must not be a good cook then as she was raised by her grandmother having cooked everything in cast iron and she knew how to season it properly afterward. Thanks for sharing.

I also cook tomato sauce in mine ...a well seasoned pan can handle it just fine! I think that people should teach and speak from experience! Thanks for reading :)

We love cast Iron around also nothing to cook on.
Great Post thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56355.98
ETH 2973.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14