You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cast Iron Cookware: The Only Cookware You'll EVER Need!

in #food7 years ago

Great post! I have found that seasoning with vegetable oil causes rancidity since vegetable oils cant take a high heat while staying stable. have you ever experienced that? I use lard for seasoning our cast iron... Ohhh you are so right, vintage is best!!!

Sort:  

you know, I use olive oil a fair bit because it's handy but I'll rub whatever oil I have around, and it's never been an issue. I don't think I've ever had the oil go rancid .. luck maybe? I use our pans a lot and they are hung up with lots of air circulation.

That's awesome!!!

oh, I forgot to mention, for seasoning look up 100% natural flax seed oil. There are some articles about it and apparently it creates an outstanding finish. I haven't tried it yet but ill do once it summer and I can season the pans outside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39