The Sloth is baking potatoes for lunch

in #food6 years ago

1.jpg

Hello guys! Here's @veggie-sloth - simple vege recipes for the lazy people. Today we make baked potatoes! They have a lot of protein and vitamins and they are much healthier than the French fries.

Instead of fries

When I was creating a list of vegetables with the highest protein content, which was inspired by the post of @infinityroad (I recommend this guy), I learned that quite a lot of protein have potatoes, especially baked ones. What a nice surprise, right?

Unlike the french fries, which are fried in deep oil, we need only 2 tablespoons of good oil to bake potatoes. Thanks to this, our dish will contain less fat and it will retain more nutritional value during baking. Potatoes contain a lot of calcium, chlorine, iron, iodine or sulfur and vitamins C, PP, B1, B2, and B6.

Before baking, you have to remember to peel potatoes, cook and cool. If you put them in the oven, they will not be crispy. I am a bit lazy, so this time I bought ready cooked potatoes. Of course, I advise you to peel, cook and fight with all the mess associated with it;)

4.jpg

I'm not a big fan of baking unpeeled potatoes. Some scientific studies indicate that harmful substances are present in potato skins, so it is better to peel them.

Magic of spices

I really love cuisine from the Middle East. The dishes are usually very fresh, they smell of herbs and spices. Delicious! Let's add some spices from Lebanon to our potatoes.

2.jpg

Spices:

  • salt
  • zaatar (thyme, sesame, and sumac)
  • red sweet pepper
  • a fresh clove of garlic
  • black pepper
  • turmeric
  • cayenne pepper
  • dried fenugreek leaves

3.jpg

I leave it to your choice how many spices you want to add. You know for yourself whether you prefer a slightly milder dish or spicy one like in hell. I think that's enough! Mix everything with 2-3 tablespoons of local oil. Add the mixed spices to potatoes (400 g) in the heatproof dish and put into the oven for 20-25 minutes.

Finished! This time I served potatoes with fried eggs and very sour pickles. What're your favorite species I can add to baked potatoes next time? Let me know in a comment!

Be healthy and sleep a lot! @veggie-sloth


Take a look at my other vegetarian recipes:

The Great Baked Tofu - Sloth's secret recipe
Super simple 3-leaves green salad
Spaghetti with broccoli and roasted almonds

And for something completely different, my travel post:

Sky filled with lanterns - Loi Krathong Festival, Thailand

Sort:  

hello beautiful photography. I invite you to our discord chat together we help each other grow. You will be welcome if you wish https://discord.gg/JbGbP8D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31