A Simple Recipe to the Delicious Queso Fundido With Chorizo and Mushrooms!

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Today I enjoyed a traditional Mexican dish called Queso Fundido with chorizo and mushrooms. This dish also known as choriqueso in certain parts of Mexico is very popular as an appetizer. It is basically a cheese dip with crispy chorizo. I love mushrooms so I decided to add mushrooms and jalapeños to mine, but it is optional and based on personal preference. This dish is very easy to make so even if you do not have much experience cooking it will come out delicious! It is also a very inexpensive dish to make as you mainly need cheese, mushrooms, jalapenos, garlic, onion and oil. I recommend this dish to serve during parties or gatherings or if you decide to host a traditional Mexican Fiesta. Serve this along with your normal guacamole and your guest will be in love with it! Prep time is only about 10 minutes and 30 minutes leaving it to cook in the oven, which left me some time to prepare a sangria so that I could enjoy this with my queso fundido. I made a good decision as everyone that had this loved both the sangria and the queso fundido. Below are the ingredients to this simple recipe and the instructions. Enjoy! 

Serves 6 to 8 people. 

Ingredients 

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (or any other cooking oil) based on your preference. 
  • 6 oz Mexican chorizo
  • ½ cup yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 pound mushrooms, sliced
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon crushed chili flakes (optional if you like it spicy)
  • 6 cups of Oaxaca cheese or you can do a combination of other cheeses such as pepper jack, mozzarella and Oaxaca. 
  • 2 jalapeño chopped( optional again if you like it spicy
  • Cilantro 

Instructions

1.Preheat oven to 350℉.

2.Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat with 1 tablespoon olive oil or your oil of preference. Add in the chorizo and cook, breaking down with a spoon, for about 10 minutes or until browned. Transfer to a plate or bowl and set aside. Add remaining 1 tablespoon of oil and stir in the onion, garlic and mushrooms. Sauté for about 5 minutes until softened and just beginning to brown. Season with salt, pepper and crushed chili flakes that is you decide to use them. Stir the chorizo back in and cook for another minute or two. Remove from heat.

3. In a shallow skillet or baking dish pour half of the cheese into an even layer. Top with half of the chorizo and mushroom mixture and sprinkle with half of the jalapeños. Then top with the remaining cheese, creating another layer. And finish it off with the remaining chorizo mushroom mixture and jalapeños and cilantro. Bake for about 25 to 30 minutes or until bubbly and the cheese has melted thoroughly. Serve immediately with chips or flour tortillas. 

Cheers!

For the sangria I already had a premade sangria so all I did was to add fruit such as apple, grapes and slices of lime for extra flavor. This turned to be a hit as well this night! 

Hope you enjoyed this recipe and give it a try! Till next time! 

I appreciate all the support to those who have been leaving wonderful comments and showing me love on my posts. I wanted to thank you for the support! 

Sort:  

Hope you keep these amazing recepies coming cus I love every single one of them 😍😋

It seems I'm going to have to be doing more cooking now than before! Specially on the weekends! 😀

Sus fotografías me han causado un apetito enorme. gracias por las resetas.

Gracias a usted! Espero sea de su agrado! Me da gusto que hay personas que hablen español aquí! 😀

That looks good any more dishes you have made from central america

This is delicious! You need to give this a try! I will be sharing many dishes here, hope you enjoy them!

¡Se ve delicioso! Creo que me prepararé algo así el fin de semana :)

Es muy rico té lo recomiendo y si lo acompañas con un vinito o sangría mucho mejor! 🍷

wowowowow que rico!! tengo hambre!! :D

Entonces logre mi meta! 😁

looks very appetizing))), I also love to cook !!!

That's great! I need to see some of your recipes then! Give this one a try 😉

I just saw some of your recipes! I have a weakness for desserts! Wil try some of yours!

All of that, looks awesome :)

Thank you! 😀

Nice recipe, definitely gonna try it at home!

Great! Let me know how it comes out! Is very easy to make. Enjoy!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63