New Orleans Shrimp and Grits Recipe- A Traditional Creole Delicacy!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Today I am going to show you how to prepare shrimp and sausage over grits. This is one of the most satisfying shrimp dishes I had when I visited New Orleans and a creole classic dish offered by most restaurants in this city.  If you are interested in seeing more creole dishes and recommendations check my previous New Orleans food post. The recipe below is inspired by the shrimp and grits by Luke Restaurant in new Orleans.

Ingredients needed:

FOR THE GRITS

  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup of white stone ground organic grits
  • 2 tablespoons of butter

FOR THE SHRIMP

  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 36 Jumbo Louisiana shrimp or other American shrimp unpeeled
  • Basic creole spices
  • Salt
  • ½ cup minced andouille sausage
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 shallot minced
  • 2 piquillo ( roasted Spanish peppers)
  • 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 2 cups of shrimp stalk
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 teaspoon of fresh lemon juice
  • 2 cups of canned tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh chives
  • ½ cup fresh chervil springs              

       

For the grits, bring 4 cups of water with salt to a boil in a medium size saucepan over high heat. Slowly pour the grits into the boiling water, stirring constantly. Reduce the heat to low. Stir the grits often to make sure they do not stick to the bottom of the pot. Simmer the grits for until the water has been absorbed and they become soft, about 20 minutes. Stir in the butter and mascarpone.  Remove from the heat and place a piece of plastic wrap directly on the surface of the grits to avoid a crust from forming. 

My boyfriend likes the shrimp with the head and everything so I left them as is to his preference. 

For the shrimp, heat the olive oil in a large skillet over moderate heat. Season the shrimp with creole spices and salt. Sauté the shrimp until they begin to brown but not cooked all the way through. Remove the shrimp as they cook and set aside.

In the same skillet, sauté the sausage, garlic, shallots, piquillo peppers and thyme until they become aromatic, about 5 minutes. Add the shrimp stalk and bring to a simmer. Stir the butter and reduce the saucepan until its nice and thick. 3-5 minutes.

Return the shrimp to the original skillet and cook for an additional 5 minutes. Add the lemon, tomatoes and chives.

Spoon a heaping ¼ cup of the grits into the each of the 6 bowls. Spoon sauce and shrimp and garnish watch bowl with fresh chervil.

 

Feel free to substitute ingredients if you are allergic to any or prefer something else. I always add 1 teaspoon of crush red pepper to make it spicy. 

 

Bon Appétit!

Follow me @travelista

Sort:  

Thank you @rubenexander! I'm flattered! :)

Hey, you made the cookbook too!

Congratulations! I'm the Lunch/Dinner option for Monday!

Oh nice! Congratulations! Will need to check your recipes :)

You never seem to stop Amazing me @travelista! That dish you made looks Amazing and with a Coronita, that's what you call Paradise! ;)

Thank you @btcupload! I agree can't have paradise without a corona :)

I will never, ever read one of your posts again.... when I am hungry! :P

Looks yummy.

Your food looks wonderful as well. ;-)

I am surprised you did not add a bit of chili? Do you not like it hot?

Thank you @darknet:) I must of forgotten to mention it. I cannot eat without chilli actually even on my fruit I have it lol. I chose the spiciest sausage for this dish and also added crushed red pepper to it as I love this is broth base dishes ;)

Me too! I love chili! It can never be too hot for me! I look forward to your next recipe! Followed.

You know, we will need a food enthusiast in Steemtopia, maybe you should join us!? :)

http://steemit.com/steemit/@darknet/steemunity-has-this-been-suggested-before-what-if-by-upvoting-a-post-we-were-to-raise-funds-to-buy-some-land-and-essentially

I certainly do hope I see you there!

Kind regards,
Optimistic

We have something in common @darknet! That's what my boyfriend always says, nothing is ever too spicy for me! Can't live without it!

Let me check it out and see what this is about :)

Looks really good @travelista Thanks for sharing your recipe and will have to try it one day with a Stella instead though, lol...

Thank you @dreambig! I love Stella as well 👍

Dear, you have to devein the shrimp before you cook it,
you are serving shrimp with their shit on?????????
no good

Corona with Creole. Corona seems to be the beer of choice for Steemians.

Goes with sushi too: https://steemit.com/recipes/@lemon305/how-to-make-sushi-at-home-fresh-salmon-and-avocado-roll-by-lemon305

Interesting @magnebit! Will check out that post to learn how to make sushi, which I love! :)

Delicious. I think that it can add other meals

Beautiful yummy dish i miss fresh tiger prawns. Thanks for the great post and the wicked recipe:)...Followed:)

Thank you for the support @cryptoiskey! Glad you liked it! Will check out yours as well :)

Body is fine, lets see the recipe

I gotta tell my wife about this dish looks quite appetizing. Awesome recipe blog you just earned a new follower. I will also try to get her into blogging here she's a foodie.

Thank you @fpcvirtual! Happy to see you liked and and would love to see your wife here joining us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63