Homemade SAZON Seasoning Spice ~ Easy!

in #food7 years ago

This is a recipe for homemade Sazon. It is easy and most of the ingredients you probably already have. Video recipe at the end of this post. Enjoy.

sazon9.jpg

How to make Sazon Seasoning Spice ~ Homemade Sazon Recipe

INGREDIENTS:
1 1/2 tsp. cumin, ground coriander, cilantro, oregano,
onion and garlic powder
1 tbsp. ground annatto (achiote)
1 tsp. salt - optional

Grind until powder.
Store in sealed glass container.
Use 1 tbsp of seasoning to 1 packet of Sazon

sazon3.jpg

Sazon is a seasoning blend found in Spanish and Mexican markets. It is used on meats, in soups and stews, rice and beans
tacos and tamales. The most popular brand is made by Goya Foods. Making your own is easy and the great part is there is no MSG flavor enhancer or artificial food coloring.

You can add salt and this is optional. I don't add any to salt to my Sazon as I like to have the option of adding salt while I am cooking.

sazon1.jpg

This natural home made Sazon can be stored in a lidded glass container. One tbsp. of the Sazon will equal one packet of the store bought.

Making home made Sazon is easy, healthier and cheaper.

What do you use Sazon for? Leave a comment below.

sazon2.jpg

Please UPVOTE and FOLLOW ME.


Some other recent posts you may enjoy:

This is what happens when Husband wants burgers at 9pm!
https://steemit.com/food/@tesscooks4u/this-is-what-happens-when-husband-wants-burgers-at-9pm

Amish MUSTARD Pickled Eggs ~ Healthy & Yum!
https://steemit.com/food/@tesscooks4u/amish-mustard-pickled-eggs-healthy-and-yum

Strawberry Shortcake! ~ Happy 4th July!
https://steemit.com/food/@tesscooks4u/strawberry-shortcake-happy-4th-july

Easy & Healthy Chinese Egg Foo Young Recipe
https://steemit.com/food/@tesscooks4u/easy-and-healthy-chinese-egg-foo-young-recipe


061417SteemitBanner1.jpg061417ME.jpg

Please UPVOTE and FOLLOW ME. Thanks so much and have a wonderful day. Tess :)

Homemade SAZON seasoning spice video recipe:

Sort:  

What is annatto?

Annatto is a natural orange/red food coloring and widely used in the food industry for coloring such things as cheese, butter, snack foods, cereals and
other process foods. It does not have much flavor. Annatto is a seed from a tree (not sure what tree). McCormicks offers annatto. You can also check on Amazon.

Oh neat. I wonder if I could use it as an orange icing for my natural dye series.

Possibly, You can research and see. I use it in the Sazon and also to color oil for over rice. Thanks @vegetarianbaker

Just perfect. I use goya when I am lazy some times lol. But the one I have here is clean, no MSG or any preservatives on the ingredients label. I also have some anatto seeds here that I wanted to try and experiment with. I was thinking about making anatto oil, just have not gotten around to it. Maybe I will try that out today and make a video on how it turns out for youtube.

Thanks @healthyrecipe Yes, I have made oil to go over rice. Can't wait to see the video! Have a good day.

So good rubbed on pork and broiled then served with pickled onions, pico de Gallo and guacamole on tacos!

Now you made me hungry @artedellavita LOL! Have a good day.

Awesome! Making a mental note, I might use this ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95