TacoCat's TrEats #2: Singaporean breakfast foods!

in #food6 years ago

Hey Steemians!

Following my previous post on Mcbreakfast, I thought I'd cover Singaporean breakfast foods!

Of course there are plenty of choices, so these are just my top picks (warning: dont read this on an empty stomach! 😩):

1 ) Kaya Toast
Kaya toast is probably the most well-known since the Ya Kun Kaya Toast chain is found pretty much all over Asia. Kaya toast itself is toasted slices of bread with butter and a generous spread of kaya; a traditional jam made from coconut and eggs, with a topping of sugar. Kaya toast is typically eaten with two soft-boiled eggs with runny yolks and translucent whites that are heavenly with a dash of dark soya sauce and white pepper, along with a cup of 'kopi' (coffee) or 'teh' (tea).

You can find this in pretty much any coffee shop or food centres like FoodFare, or just go to Ya Kun.
ya kun.jpg

Personally I find kaya a little too sweet, so I don't really eat it that much. I do really like the soft boiled eggs though, so I tend to opt for peanut butter with my toast instead.

BUT, if there's one thing you don't do while eating kaya toast it's dipping it in the eggs!


I really hope those who watched this episode (who haven't eaten kaya toast before) don't follow their example. #pleasedont

2 ) Kueh
So there are MANY different types of kueh out there, since it's an all-encompassing term for bite-sized snack or dessert foods made from rice or glutinous rice.

My favourite kueh to eat for breakfast is definitely chwee kueh (literally "water rice cake"). They're steamed rice cakes topped with diced preserved radish and served with chili sauce.

You can find this in most hawker centres, but the best one I've eaten is at Bedok Interchange hawker centre.
chwee kueh.jpg

I also like you zha kueh or you tiao (油条), which is kinda like a savoury churro. Some people call it a chinese doughnut. It's a long, lightly salted, deep-fried golden-brown strip of dough and is typically eaten with rice congee for breakfast. I normally accompany it with a cup of soy milk for breakfast.

Congee is good too, but I normally only eat congee when I'm feeling sick because Singapore is just too hot to eat congee on a normal day.

3 ) Roti Prata
Better known as roti canai, roti prata is a South Indian specialty; a fried flatbread dish usually served with curry, but can also be cooked in a range of sweet or savoury variations made with a variety of ingredients such as sardines, meat, egg, or cheese.

My favourite is egg cheese prata, with a cup of bandung (rose syrup drink with condensed milk). It's so yummy, and has more filling than the others. Now there are so many different variations but I usually stick to egg and cheese.

Coin prata is not bad too, but since it's quite small I dont think it's as value for money compared to other prata (esp since you can finish one in like 2 bites)
prata.jpg

I haven't really found a super good prata place yet, but Class 95 (one of our local radio stations) recently awarded Saffrons Cafeteria the Best Prata award. Since it's near my place and opens almost 24/7 I'll probably try it some time when I'm back in SG.
Here's a video of Saffrons Cafeteria: https://www.facebook.com/Class95FM/videos/10155320572571641/

4 ) Carrot cake
So I already posted about this in my post about hawker centres, but carrot cake is seriously one of my favourite dishes.
6c.jpg

I haven't really eaten it for breakfast because again, I don't wake up that early to go out for breakfast, but it's my go-to food option when I'm out at a hawker centre.

5 ) Nasi lemak
I also posted about in my previous post. Although I don't really eat it for breakfast per se, many Singaporeans do, and it's really tasty! 😋

6 ) Noodles
There are soooo many different types of noodles that Singaporeans eat for breakfast. Some examples include mee pok, fishball noodles, laksa, wonton mee, bak chor mee, mee rubus, and the list goes on.

Personally I've never really eaten noodles for breakfast, but when I wake up late I eat it for brunch instead.

A popular favourite is laksa, which consists of rice noodles or rice vermicelli with chicken, prawn or fish, served in spicy soup based on either rich and spicy curry coconut milk or on sour asam. Since it can be quite spicy I don't really eat it for breakfast, but it is a delicious option.

One of my favourite noodle dishes is mee pok. The noodles (mee kia) are flat and yellow, with varying thickness and width. Mee Pok is commonly served tossed in a sauce (often referred to as "dry", or tah in Hokkien) though sometimes served in a soup (where it is referred to as "soup", or terng). Meat and vegetables are added on top.

I like my mee pok dry, with chili sauce instead of tomato sauce, and with fishcake/fishballs instead of mushroom minced meat (aka bak chor mee).

I hope I didn't make you too hungry from this post! Again, these are just my top picks of Singaporean breakfast foods and there are plenty more out there. Which do you like most?

Tune in to my next post about more food! 😋

Thank for reading!

To find out more about me, read my intro post here!

Check out my previous posts!
Uniquely Singaporean: Hawker Centres! 小販中心! ホーカーセンター!

OR
TacoCat's TrEats #1: McBreakfast is the bestest :D

wink taco.gif

Sort:  

Oh man this is too hunger inducing!

yesss i was so hungry after writing!

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

What a hungry read early in the morning! 😋

haha i miss all these food! 😣

This kind of post, must read with a full stomach. If not sure get hungry... Haha..

I like to dip my kaya toast in my soft boiled eggs leh.. But i will put dark soy sauce and pepper in the eggs first.

haha ya I write also hungry

Ah I realise people like to dip things; I saw pics of 油条 dip into soy milk but I dont like to dip because it'll become soggy :/

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TacoCat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66161.28
ETH 3556.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14