Too Tall Mini Spice Cakes: Made Without Grain, Dairy and Refined Sugar And Loaded With Vegetables

in #food7 years ago

                        

I'm taking you on a progression as one recipe easily transforms into another delectable. We started with a simple zucchini carrot sweet bread. Then, we transformed this into a spice snacking cake with the addition of some cashew butter cream icing and now into a more sophisticated offering as a "Too Tall, Multiple Layered Mini Spice Cake". 

This "Too Tall" cake plates beautiful and will impress the most discerning dinner guest. Its ability to stand upright as a tower and be exceptionally moist, all at the same time, is noteworthy...especially considering that it contains coconut flour which is so dry. 

No one has to know that there isn't grain flour, dairy or refined sugar in it and that it's loaded with vegetables. Yes, you can serve vegetables for dessert!

First, you will need to make the sweet bread portion. You can find the "how to" here:  https://steemit.com/food/@rebeccaryan/grain-free-paleo-friendly-zucchini-carrot-bread

Then, you will need to make the cashew butter cream icing. You can find the "how to" here: https://steemit.com/food/@rebeccaryan/a-vegan-and-paleo-friendly-cashew-butter-cream-icing

Lastly, I'd like to easily show you "how to" re-configure those 2 recipes to create a "Too Tall Mini Spice Cake".

Directions:

        

  • Each "Too Tall" cake requires 2 mini zucchini carrot breads per person, to make. Cut each mini bread into 3 equal horizontal slices, using a serrated knife or a cake wire.
  • Frost each layer, on one side with a generous amount of the cashew butter cream icing.  

Pro Tip:

After you make the cashew icing, don't refrigerate it. Keeping it at room temperature will allow you to spread it quickly and easily. If you make the icing in advance and refrigerated it for longer term storage, it will harden into a solid and will not spread after directly removing it from the fridge. You'll need to let it warm up and come to room temperature first.

  • Simply stack each slice of frosted spice cake on top of one another with the icing side facing upwards.
  • For another variation, orange marmalade can be spread directly on top of the icing on each slice, adding to the complexity of flavours contained within this cake.
  • Garnish with a slice of strawberry or orange on top (optional).

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

that looks like a real nice treat. there's nobody around here that I know of that can make things like that.if they could I would be knocking on their door

Hahaha! Are there any more of you in your family with the same sense of hunour?
My husband's Mother is an avid reader and she just loves Francis...she reads my blog and every single comment because she's interested in learning and about other people from other countries. She's in her 70's. I have yet to convince her to join Steemit. Maybe she will, so that she can follow your family. You're such good people...I'm going to have to spend a week in my kitchen before I come and visit you, Pat and Francis. ;D

@rebeccaryan
I am biting my tongue to keep it from hanging out. Ha
That looks too good. I don't know when to quit when something
is that good and within reach.
Maybe you can smack my hand. lol

Francis

I will put this on my list of things to bring with me, if I ever get a chance to visit you and Pat. :)

So many different layers of deliciousness it makes my mouth water just looking at it.
However this is a pretty 'tall cake', I'd probably find it difficult eating each wholesome layer but the struggle would probably be worth it.
Great dessert @rebeccaryan! :)

Thanks @arckrai! It actually turns out to be a really generous piece of cake. Next time I will cut it in half. :D

It is amazing how you brought the simple sweet bread to this lovely millefeuille! You are really very talented and so creative too! Really impressed!
@progressivechef

Thank you Chef! (LOL! I called it a Too Tall cake because as an amateur, I wouldn't dare imply that I could actually make a real millefeuille.)
Thanks again for the huge compliment.

a lot of work , but looks fantastic, I am now following you for more

Wow, @rebeccaryan! You are extremely talented and impressive with your culinarian knowledge and skills!

That looks so delicious

That looks freaking delicious , not sure to love you or hate you right now @rebeccaryan 😀

Great recipe, it looks so yummy, thank you for sharing such amazing sweet.

This food remembers me when I was in Canada last month ,,, eummmm so good ,, make me want to go there again ,, hihihi
Maybe when i go there again i can meet you and can get together with you ,,

I just signed up in steemit ,, help me to get a lot of friends here .. thank you .. and post there really amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67