A Vegan and Paleo-Friendly, Cashew Butter Cream Icing

in #food7 years ago (edited)

                        

A few days ago, I shared a recipe for making a grain-free zucchini carrot sweet bread. This is the icing or frosting that I have made  specifically for it. With the addition of this icing, it ultimately transforms the bread into a spice cake.

If you missed that post on how to make the sweet bread, you can find here: https://steemit.com/food/@rebeccaryan/grain-free-paleo-friendly-zucchini-carrot-bread

This Vegan icing can also be used as a filling for squares or can be layered between 2 cookies and frozen, (if you are so inclined).

Pro-tip And The "How to" Part: 

When you are working with seeds or nuts as a main ingredient and you want to pull as much of the nutritional density out of them as you can, you need to soak the seeds and nuts first. This remove the phytic acid that naturally coats the outside of them. This coating is present to preserve the seed or nut and help it to pass completely intact through the guts of the bird, animal or human that has consumed it. Its sole purpose is to ensure the survival of the plant species (that the seed or nut belongs too).  Each nut or seed has specific soaking times to remove the phytic acid. In the case of cashews, the minimum soaking time required is 4 hours. If we were working with whole almonds, the minimum soaking time required to remove the acid is 12 hours. Basically, the process is to soak the nuts or seeds for the recommended duration and then rinse them really well to remove the phytic acid. This step is taken so that the nutrients contained within, can be efficiently absorbed and any irritation to the lining of the gut wall can be minimized, making the overall digestion processes, less taxing on the system. 

                         

In this photo, you can see what 1 cup of cashew look like after they have been soaking in room temperature water for 4 hours. Cashews are a softer nut to begin with and they plump up really nicely after being soaked. Before I used these cashews, I rinsed them really thoroughly in a strainer, under cool running water.

The ingredients required to make this icing are:

  1. 1 cup of unsalted cashews, soaked for 4 hours and rinsed well;
  2. 141 grams of creamed coconut (about 3/4 of a cup);
  3. 1/4 cup of maple syrup or agave nectar;
  4. the juice of one lemon (about 2 tbsp);
  5. and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract.

Directions:

   

  • Add all the ingredients to the bowl of a food processor.
  • Blend well for approximately 3 minutes or until the mixture is completely smooth and lump-free.

                       

  • Apply to the top of the zucchini carrot bread.

With the addition of the cashew butter cream icing the bread becomes transformed into a delicious spice cake.  It reminds me of a cake that my Great Grandmother once made and served along side a cup of Orange Pekoe tea, in the middle of the afternoon.

                      

I hope that you enjoy this nutritionally-packed, grain, dairy and refined sugar-free treat.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan


 


Sort:  

@rebeccaryan
What? Is that you Rebecca? I logged on to your blog and the page lit up with new posts. Amazing
You can make new posts faster than I can even answer them. Ha
Love it.

Francis

It's amazing what a person can actually do if they are left alone...Hahaha!
I decided that this day was mine and I got all my chores done early and spent the day writing. Ah, bliss...

I like cake, thank for recipes so Very nice photos, how you take such a bright photo, perfect wow, this is very delicious food, inspire my taste, so I am hungry, hhhhmmm nyaaammmiiii food and you take it thoroughly and make a very beautiful image in the eye, always success.

Thank you @zuric! I appreciate that you took the time to have a look and comment.
I have followed you. :)

The cashew butter cream icing looks so good. So light and fluffy it looks like it will just melt in your mouth :)
I'll definitely have a go at recreating this icing.
Thank you for the recipe @rebeccaryan

Very nice icing @rebeccaryan, i like to say one thing here that "eating is a necessity but cooking is an art" i really appreciate your art.

its so fantastic to share it i also want to eat it to see this and u r a great lady mam that u make it and its look so so tasty i think u have some magic in ur hands @rebeccaryan mam

wow @rebecca u r a good cook and and also a good writer and ur vegan icing recpie is really wonderfull and sure i will try to make this also thanx to share this i think its so tasy and sweet

I was thinking to myself yesterday I just can't wait till she posts another recipe.I sent my brother Francis a text yesterday and said where is Rebecca?I wish I could make healthy stuff like that

As I can't bake..i will throw those cashew seeds into the fire, as we used to when we were kids. My cousin got a tree in their backyard ;) The fruit, beautiful as they are, can't be eaten. Am wondering if there's a use of them nowadays.
Feels like old times @rebeccaryan, when there were no newbies lolsss

ow that's so so good too look at!!
must be yummy also!! um!!

I'm very please I stumbled on this magnificent post in the feed (which it what it makes me want to do! Now.) YUM! GORGEOUS and lovely photos, too- makes me happy :) (I wish peanuts were nuts - I've a huge bag of fresh and have been roasting them nicely but they're not as flexible so to speak as cashews).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67