Steemit Culinary Challenge #23 Otsumami: A Hot Date With Jalapeno, Goat Cheese and CranberriessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Today, I am presenting 2 fantastic little appetizers that you can pick-up with your hands and enjoy.

The are:

  • stuffed jalapeno peppers;
  • and stuffed Sayer dates.

I have paired both with a wine that has been fermented using a rare white cranberry. The white cranberries used to make the wine, were grown just outside of a little town called Bala, (about a 3 hour drive from where I live) in Ontario, Canada. They have been grown on the same farm and by the same family (the Johnstons) since 1950.

Cranberries typically are little red juicy berries that grow in marshy bogs. They are a small hard berry which, is a little bigger than a blueberry but a little smaller than a red grape. They are often called marsh apples because they are hard and have a red skin with white flesh, once you cut into them.

Cranberries are commonly grown from April to November and are a berry that is produced by an evergreen vine. The harvest typically occurs in earl to mid autumn and many farmers use special machinery to pick the berries from the vines dry and also employ a flooding technique to float the berries out of the bogs. 

The country of Canada is the second largest producer of cranberries globally with the United States being the world leader in production.

The white cranberries make for a slightly sweeter, less tangy wine that pairs beautifully with soft cheeses.

The colour of the white cranberry wine can vary greatly from year to year, but it does resemble a rose.

I've also used red dried cranberries in my goat cheese filling, so that I can complement the flavour of the wine.

(In this photo, the red dried cranberries are beside the dates. They do resemble a raisin when they are dried.)

Let's have a look at the ingredients:

  1. a dozen whole jalapeno peppers cut in half lengthwise, seeded with the pith removed (The cheese filling will stuff 2 dozen peppers which will make 48 pieces. If you don't need that many, you can freeze the mixture, for use at a later date.);
  2. 1/3 + 1/3 cup grated, aged smoked cheddar cheese (The one I used was 2 years old, was wood smoked and had caramelized onions it it, but any "old", sharp cheddar will work.);
  3. 2/3 + 1/3 cup of thick bacon, fried, cooled and cut in small pieces;
  4. 8 ounces of full fat cream cheese;
  5. 4 ounces of goat cheese (The goat cheese filling will stuff approximately 60 small dates, any left-over filling can also be frozen, if you don't need that many.);
  6. 1/3 cup of dried cranberries;
  7. 1.5 tsp of shredded fresh basil leaves;
  8. 1/2 tsp of shredded fresh thyme leaves;
  9. and ground walnuts, (optional and used as a garnish).

The tools needed are:

  1. a food processor, hand blender or a medium size mixing bowl (to blend cheese fillings in);
  2. a parring knife;
  3. a small spoon (to fill peppers and dates with the cheese mixtures);
  4. and 2 lined baking sheets.

Directions:

  • Cut each pepper lengthwise. Seed and remove the pith from each pepper half. (Be mindful not to wipe your eyes or touch your mouth. Jalapeno pepper juice is hot stuff.)

  • Harvest and finely chop the fresh basil and thyme.

(This is my kitchen herb garden. It's mid-April currently and we won't be able to garden outside for another month yet, due to frost which can occur up and until the end of May.)

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  • Add 8 oz of cream cheese, 2/3 cup of chopped bacon pieces, 1/3 cup of grated cheddar cheese and 1/2 tsp of fresh thyme leaves to a food processor or bowl. (It is easier to meld the flavours and blend the cheeses if you let the cream cheese warm to room temperature before you mix it.)

  • Blend well.

  • Arrange jalapeno pepper halves on a lined baking sheet and fill with the cream cheese mixture.

  • Bake for 25 minutes. The peppers will cook and the cheese will melt and become golden brown.

While the peppers are cooking, mix the goat cheese filling and stuff the dates.

  • Add 4 oz of goat cheese to the food processor or blending bowl, along with 1/3 cup of cooked diced bacon, 1/3 cup of  grated cheddar cheese, 1/3 cup of cranberries and 1.5 tsp of fresh basil. (Again, it is easier to blend the cheeses if you let the goat cheese warm-up to room temperature before you mix it.)

  • Blend well.

  • Stuff the dates with the goat cheese and cranberry mixture and place on a lined baking sheet.

  • Bake for 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees F or until the cheese mixture has melted and turned to a golden brown. (Be mindful, dates contain a lot of natural sugar and can burn fairly quickly if they are left in the oven too long.)

  • Present on a nice serving platter and serve with chilled white cranberry wine.

Enjoy with good company! The baked jalapeno peppers lose a little bit of their heat, once they're cooked and they complement the sharpness of the cheddar. The dates get a crispy shell on the outside and become caramelized and chewy on the inside. The cranberries offer a tangy flavour that pairs beautifully with the wine and the goat cheese.

Thanks to @boxcarblue for being our guest judge, this week.

I'd also like to thank @woman-onthe-wing, @oaldamster, @vegascomic, @smooth and @sirwinchester.

I welcome your comments and invite you to join me at my table...there is always room for one more. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan




Sort:  

@rebeccaryan I had a date with goat cheese - freaking yummy!
have you tried it with a sweet French goat cheese? damn heavenly!
I don't drink alcoholic stuff though I easily get drunk and do the sillies so I wonder what it would taste like with wine or beer

surely the Jalapeno's a yum!
it's an Asian take ;)
good luck!

Thank you @englishtchrivy! The cranberry wine, tastes like a cranberry juice with a little kick. It is a sweeter beverage than I normally would drink. I don't actually drink very much, myself...
As you know, I'm more of a green flower girl. lol
I have never tasted French goat cheese...only Canadian and Spanish...hahaha! Do you have goat cheese readily available in the Netherlands?

If it's not that spicy @rebeccaryan, am gonna bring some white ;)

Nice @immarojas, we won't be hungry or thirsty, whenever we get together! (Baking the jalapenos really helps to curb the heat and pairing with cheese did too.)

So long as there's no smoke coming out from my ears, am all for it! Chilled white to the rescue!

Rebecca you have once again made my mouth water!!! What a fabulous lot of ingredients you have there, so fresh and healthy, and with the wine too I can imagine myself nibbling on and on and on until I realise I've eaten the whole lot... drool. Thanks for putting so much into this as you always do :-) Lotsa luck!

Thank you @woman-onthe-wing! That is exactly what happens with these things...once you start it's hard to stop. My husband isn't a fan of jalapenos or dates...so guess what I am eating for the next 3 days. LOL

Lucky you!!! I love it when I make something my husband doesn't like haha :-)

Hahaha! Yes, there are some benefits, here and there.

Congratulations @rebeccaryan! Beautiful entry, very well deserved 1st place!

Thank you very much @woman-onthe-wing!
I noticed the 50 steem too...did you do this yourself?

Yes, but please don't return it as I want you to have it!!! It's only Steem, and as @boxcarblue says "live like a whale"!

Well, thank you @woman-onthe-wing! It certainly wasn't expected and I appreciate it.
@boxcarblue is right. We all need to be living like whales.
Hopefully everything is ok with @sirwinchester and he's just traveling or something along those lines...
Happy Easter to you and your family, my friend

You're welcome Rebecca :-) Yes, I too hope he's just super busy or holidaying somewhere exotic! Happy Easter to you too!!!

Yum Yum yum... Stuffed jalapanos gets my vote every time. Looks fab!

Thank you @meesterboom! I have to admit, they are an addictive nibbly.

Stuffed Jalapenos are my all time favorite. I grow 50 plants every year in my garden to ensure a plentiful supply for making the pepper poppers. Awesome post @rebeccaryan

Thank you @sunscape! Wow!!! 50 plants!! That's a lot of pepper picking. Do you make jellies with them? My friend grew ghost peppers last year and had a bumper crop off of 2 plants. I can only imagine the volume you have with 50. (He made the most delicious ghost pepper jelly, that we have greatly enjoyed this winter.) Thanks for commenting.

Hi @rebeccaryan Yes I do make a lot of jam and jellies for appetizers. Also, I do have a huge freezer and many friends and family that love to share in the bounty. lol

Do you wear gloves when you harvest and cook with them? I thought I was being careful, but I tasted the thyme and basil before I used them and I must have had some juice on my finger tips...I ended up with tingling lips for a little bit. :)

Absolutely gloves all the way, when I make hot sauce with all the varieties of hot peppers the steam from them cooking causes me to choke a lot, when it gets bad I have to wear a mask....but it is so worth it. Even with gloves I get burning underneath my fingernails for a couple days with the habaneros and african fish peppers. They are hot.

Wow! I never thought about the volatile oils that would be released with that volume cooking to make preserves. Plus, the fingernail thing...that's all good to know @sunscape. Thanks for sharing. ;)

Congrats on first place! Definitely a winner

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Looks mighty fine to me!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54