Sort:  

Thank you @sunscape! Wow!!! 50 plants!! That's a lot of pepper picking. Do you make jellies with them? My friend grew ghost peppers last year and had a bumper crop off of 2 plants. I can only imagine the volume you have with 50. (He made the most delicious ghost pepper jelly, that we have greatly enjoyed this winter.) Thanks for commenting.

Hi @rebeccaryan Yes I do make a lot of jam and jellies for appetizers. Also, I do have a huge freezer and many friends and family that love to share in the bounty. lol

Do you wear gloves when you harvest and cook with them? I thought I was being careful, but I tasted the thyme and basil before I used them and I must have had some juice on my finger tips...I ended up with tingling lips for a little bit. :)

Absolutely gloves all the way, when I make hot sauce with all the varieties of hot peppers the steam from them cooking causes me to choke a lot, when it gets bad I have to wear a mask....but it is so worth it. Even with gloves I get burning underneath my fingernails for a couple days with the habaneros and african fish peppers. They are hot.

Wow! I never thought about the volatile oils that would be released with that volume cooking to make preserves. Plus, the fingernail thing...that's all good to know @sunscape. Thanks for sharing. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55