Is your breakfast helping you to be your fullest, highest self?

in #food6 years ago

Hello beautiful,

“They” say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. But it’s more than just eating something, it’s about finding the right things to eat to help you start your day out right. Sure, your bacon, sausage, eggs and toast may be delicious, but is your breakfast actually helping you start the day rejuvenated, refreshed, and fully ready to take on the WONDERFUL day ahead of you?

33145776_10156131218762419_2131281704214593536_n.jpg

I’ve always been a big fan of breakfast, but over the past few years, I’ve become a vegetarian and a much more happier, healthier version of my old self, so what I eat for my first meal has changed dramatically. I used to wake up, turn on the coffee pot, and fry up some bacon, eggs, potatoes, and toast. Sure, it was delicious. But was it setting me up for a productive, active, refreshing morning and day? Not at all.

Over the past year, I’ve experimented with eating different things in the mornings. I’ve eaten veg-o + egg breakfasts, just fruit, fruit and oats with coconut milk, bagels, and loads of avocado toast. What I’ve realized though, is that when I start my day eating heavy cooked foods or carbs, I end up feeling very tired and drained soon after eating. I love bread. Love it. When I’m home in America, it’s so hard to stay away from eating a cream cheese and avocado bagel on a daily basis. But with the knowledge that it is not serving me well, and not allowing me to start the day with my fullest potential has definitely helped diminish my cravings.

I’ve also found that when I just eat fruit in the morning, it is not enough to fully satiate me and leaves me feeling hungry soon after. So what could I eat to fill me up, satisfy my taste buds, and help me feel refreshed, energized, and nourshed?...

This inquiry into my breakfast foods has led me to find my happy breakfast place. The smoothie bowl.

33073603_10156131218922419_1757818964794146816_n.jpg

I've recently really gotten into eating, and creating, smoothie bowls. Lately, it's been my favorite form of artwork, taking a few minutes to lovingly decorate my delicious smoothies with healthy, nourishing nuts and seeds and fruits.

It’s really the perfect combination -- of healthy, delicious fruit, filling and nourishing oats, seeds, and nuts, and artwork! The fruit smoothie base can be jam packed with loads of fruits (much more than I would be able to eat by simply cutting and eating them raw), and the combinations are utterly endless. Then, the toppings create an entire separate realm of awesomeness. Creating art with fresh fruit, tons of different nuts and seeds that keep me feeling filled and happy long into lunch time. Plus I’ve heard it’s really good to actually chew something in the mornings, to activate enzymes that help with digestion, which is why adding the delectable toppings to your smoothies is not only delicious, but super benficial.

33156287_10156131215852419_8732733084836823040_n.jpg

These days I’ve gotten off of coffee, (that journey is a whole blog post in itself), so my daily practice usually begins with a cup of warm tea or warm water with lemon, and a few moments of stillness and quiet for meditation and mindfulness. Afterwards, once I work up a bit of an appetite, I head to the kitchen to create my smoothie art.

🍉 🍏 🍓 🍌 🍍

There are so many fruits to choose from here in this tropical paradise of Thailand. So much deliciousness! Papayas and mangoes are my favorite. And dragonfruit. And watermelon. And custard apples, and lychee, and coconuts, and bananas and mangosteens, and durian! I could go on, but I digress…

market_h2561.jpgAbundance of fresh fruit in a local Thai market
Photo credit: https://pattayadaze.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/fruit-market/

Today’s smoothie bowl is filled with a base of frozen bananas, dragonfruit, dates (the best addition to smoothies for sweetness), watermelon, coconut water, and coconut milk, and cacao :) :) It's topped with fresh watermelon, granola, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, and peanuts. Yum Yum Yum.
(P.S. FROZEN fruit is the KEY to thick, creamy, ice cream-like smoothies (skip the ice and water, use frozen fruit and cold coconut milk instead)

33083987_10156129638392419_7543194329741787136_n.jpg

I know everyone is different. Smoothies bowls may not be the perfect answer for everyone. But I believe that we all need to experiment with our own bodies and digestive system and way of life to find the perfect foods that serve us well.
So let this post serve as a simple reminder to take a look at what you’re eating for breakfast each day.

How does it affect you? Is it more than just delicious? Is it really helping you start the day on your best foot, and allowing you to work from a place of your highest good and potential???

Whatever you’re eating, make sure to send your love and appreciation into it before you eat it! I love to send a little prayer and Reiki energy into everything I eat before it enters my body. Not only does this send Chi (Qi) into the food, helping to nourish and purify the food, but it also puts ME into a state of deep gratitude, which makes everything taste more delicious 😊 ✨ Give thanks for all the food that comes across your place. The more grateful you are for it, the more delicious and nourishing it will be :)

50352729.jpg
Photo Credit: https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/life-style/health-fitness/diet/Have-you-heard-of-Reiki-treated-foods/articleshow/50352460.cms

Until next time, I love you, and Happy Eating!!
🌈 Rachel


#healthyliving #food #health #foodisfuel #healthyhappy #breakfastofchampions #art #foodart #vegetarian #highestself

Sort:  

SO MANY YESSES!! 🙏

Thank you for putting this together and sharing your smoothie-bowl art! Truly they are beautiful and mouth watering simply looking at them, enticing the imagination and preparing the body to receeeive.. aah! Bless you and thank you for putting such wisdom out there. Great start and awesome post!! 😺

Thanks @kenistyles! They're even more fun to eat than they are to create!

I recently became a vegetarian and I am now experimenting with what to eat for breakfast :D. I at first was eating just fruits and it was super good until I realised that it just not enough to as you said to fully satiate yourself and you really feel a lot hungry after a while. I am grateful that I stumbled upon your post. Will try to make some smoothies. Very inspirational. Excellent post keep up the good work and the love <3

Hey @krisstofer! Glad you found the post helpful and find that smoothie bowls help to satisfy your hunger. You can so much fruity creamy filling yunmy goodness into one bowl! Have fun creating!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Congratulations @rainbowrachel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Do not count on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52