How To Build A Rocket Stove Part 2: These Are What I Use In My Outdoor Kitchen To Feed 40,000+ FREE Meals a Year!

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians!!!


As usual I want to start by saying I am grateful to be here on this revolutionary platform with all you cutting edge Steemians!


With every post I want to contribute something of REAL value and while it may not be to realistic for most people I can honestly say that there is little in my life more practically valuable than these ROCKET STOVES!


                                                       


We @gardenofeden use these EVERY day to prepare food not only for the entire community but also for the many people outside the community we feed daily. We take food to the fire stations to say thanks for their service to saving peoples lives (unlike the police) and we feed homeless people who almost never get delicious or healthy food. We give boxes of food to single mothers or people who just lost their job or are having difficult financial times. 


We do all of this at unprecedented sustainable standards without any government funding or rich benefactors. Just a lot of dedication and hard work!


So I participated in a FOOD CHALLENGE where I prepared a main course and a dessert in just 15 minutes in the dark in my outdoor kitchen! I had a successful response to this and it was a lot of fun, you can see it here. So I decided to share a video of HOW TO MAKE A ROCKET STOVE part 1 for anyone who is interested in the very unique set up we have. You can see that post here!


           


Now I am making this post to share the next video of HOW TO MAKE A ROCKET STOVE. Even if you don't use these every day for everything they can be built anywhere and they work REALLY REALLY well as you can see if you check my video on the food challenge I participated in. What is more important for sustainability factors is the fuel. I am sure to ALLWAYS use trash as the fuel as it is FAR and away the MOST sustainable resource available. Until there is NO trash any way to USE trash is the most sustainable solution!

So here it is the second video of HOW TO MAKE A ROCKET STOVE!

Thanks for your support, it means a lot to me and I assure you it will go to helping a LOT of people. 




Sort:  

Nice, Quinn! I've been making them with perlite mixed with cement (60/40), then pour it into a 5 gallon bucket with a 4" PVC pipe as a mold, then pull the PVC out after an hour... they work very well.. Video of Rocket Stove in Action

Yes it's fast and easy.
Though mine makes a much bigger flame and are way more sustainable.

You are a wealth of knowledge. Thanks for showing us how to build useful things out of dirt!

hahahahaha well said well said. You are great with words and I am grateful for all your support!

You are the master of sustainability. I would venture to say most people have never thought about things the way you do and when you put it that way...it just changes perspectives. Im excited about the possibilities of your continuing to share valuable content that can change people's lives. Thank you so much for sharing!

So cool I love that you are using your produce to feed both the deserving and the desperate

Thank you!
I like you out put it "to feed both the deserving and desperate".
This is important because people in need, NEED help yet there are also a lot of really great people out there that deserve to be catered to, to be gifted, to be served. We strive to help as many people as possible in a full spectrum scale of life not just one particular type/class.
Appreciate the support and comment!

Awesome!
The side walls on the burn chamber ... are those concrete? Anyways I have to try this some time!

Great question!
The side walls are NOT concrete but pure stone. I NEVER recommend concrete (though it is possible to do with it) for rocket stoves as it off gasses and also because concrete will crack at high temps. There are lots of videos online using concrete and they will sorta work for a short period of time but they will never get as hot nor last as long and as I said you have off gas risk.
I used pure stone in this particular one but usually I just use pure earthen cobb/adobe or a combination of cobb/adobe and brick.
As a extra note I really appreciate your comment and support. It means a lot to me. I respect you as an important part of this steemit community and while I feel I have much of real value to contribute/share, its only really fulfilling and worth while for me if the community is benefited by it.
I welcome your feedback any time and again appreciate your acknowledgment here!
Best Regards~*~

Great thanks for the great advice!

Awesome, watching these videos gives me a lot of inspiration.

Fantastic!
I am so thrilled to hear this and it is why I do what I do and share here. To inspire!
I also respect you as an important part of the Steemit Community and am grateful for your support!
Thank you for your comment and I hope to share content worthy of comments and inspiration to come!
Bless~*~

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Yes, part two.
I know the basic Idea, and could pull one off myself, but it is still great to see "someone you know" walking you through the process. THanks!

Yes Brother!
So thrilled that you have real interest and that you may actually build one!
These are truly sustainable and once you get used to them actually far easier than most indoor stove appliances!
Not to mention you could make a cool Steemit post and make money doing it ;-)>
Wish you the best.

Oh yeah... I'll post about it when I get around to it.

These stoves are used to put on epic parties highlighting mouthgasmic feasts. The rocket stoves, coupled with our wood burning pit grill and cobb oven that Quinn built with recycled material are the backdrop for a literal cooking theater. Such an amazing treat for our members.

love this version! I made one out of a metal 5 gal bucket and concrete when i was pregnant with my first son. We lived in the jungle on the east side of maui and had no electricity or regular oven. Its all we used! a bit smoky when starting and going out...

WOW!
AWESOME!
I have spent a significant amount of time in Hawaii as well as other tropical environments. It is VERY easy to live sustainably if one really cares in such places.
Rocket stoves are VERY sustainable and can be made everywhere out of SO many different things. There is no one right way to make one and while I don't like using concrete it is possible especially with the metal bucket and if it works and you use it, then it is still a huge sustainable upgrade!
Best Regards~*~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05