BASICS OF COOKING - PERFECT MASHED POTATO

in #food6 years ago (edited)

cover working file.jpg

Something I have been thinking of for a while now, is a series of basic recipes. Recipes and techniques that other recipes depend on for their base. Some recipes will be common knowledge to the average foodie, but it is important to remember that everyone has the same skills as you do.

First up in my series, is the easiest Perfect Mashed Potatoes. You can eat these wonderfully creamy potatoes as a side for your dinner, or as the base for an amazing Cottage pie, fluffy croquettes or in a leek and potato soup. I found a sweet article here with some great ideas on how to use your leftover mashed potatoes.

IMG_2245.jpg

Follow these steps for the most luxurious, creamy potatoes.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 large potatoes, peeled and cut into small chunks
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 Tablespoons of butter
  • 3 Tablespoons of Parmesan cheese
  • salt, pepper to taste
  • strong flavoured herb of your choice, sage, or rosemary works well
  • 3 cloves of garlic

IMG_2250.jpg

METHOD:

Fill a large pot with warm water, and add a lot of salt. You want the water to be almost briney. The salt also helps to push the starch out of the potatoes, ensuring that they are creamy AF. Add the garlic, sage and chunks of potato. Bring the water to a boil, and then let the pot simmer for around twenty minutes.

IMG_2248.jpg

Once the potatoes are cooked, but not crumbly, drain all the water except about two tablespoons. Discard the sage, but leave the garlic in the pot. Add the milk, butter, cheese and season to taste. Mash with a potato masher until there are no lumps at all.

IMG_2257.jpg

Serve with a sprinkling of chives or chopped basil, and a good twist of black pepper.

IMG_2259.jpg

Are there any basic recipes that you feel you should know, and would like to learn? Let me know in the comments and I will do a post on them.

Thanks for reading, hope you have learnt something useful.

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

First off, it's a terrific recipe with very good photography. A near universal side dish, so far as I know.

I LOVE the idea of a 'basics' series. I'm really looking forward to the next installment.

Potato Pancakes. Served the next morning with bacon and eggs. My brother is the absolute master of this, and it is one of the biggest treats I know.

Thank you.

Thanks so much!

Those pancakes sound killer 😌

Mmm, I love potatoes. In fact, I just planted mine yesterday in the rain :) Although, now that I am non carb I only eat them in the Summer fresh from the garden, that way I can only really have them for a month or so. They are such a versatile food source.

But potatoes are heavenly, how can you only live one month with them in your life?😱

Just pulling your leg 😅 they are my favourite, but I hardly ever eat them mashed like this, maybe sometimes boiled with a bit of salt and pepper, skin on, but not so often 😒

I used to eat them all the time, but about 7 months ago I just really looked at my diet and just decided to go all in and try to really drastically change. Now, however, I don't miss the things that often as I find when I have them less often as a 'treat' they seem all the more special :) I am a person of extremes, though, so it is probably just my personality. I do love potatoes though, but I also get as much joy from growing them. Have you grown them in containers before? It's like magic. you put them in with some soil and wait for the leaves to pop through , then you cover the leaves again and wait and do that all summer and in the end you lift up the plant after its flowered and you have tons of fresh potatoes, and these are SO good cooked straight away. mmmm fresh.

Okay, so tell me, the potatoe is it Irish or ordinary potatoe or even the sugary one? It looks healthy to me, is it possible if I add meat to it after the preparation?

You totally can! I have often added crispy bacon bits.

I'm not sure what an Irish potato is, I would consider these pretty regular tatoes!

Well it's type of potatoes at least that I know of.
Wow amazing, I can get to try this one out also try making it too.

You could also try sweet potatoes for a different flavor! I think that's what I'll be doing when I try this recipe.

Hmmmm amazing it will certainly be amazing

Easy for a beginner cook and good thrown together with an egg. Yummm

sounds good, don't forget the bacon xx

This is soooo cool. I do crappy mash potatoes im definitely going to try this.

it's really a perfect one.

mam I also love to cook a Mashed Potato.Looks like it is a good recipe.The cook made you think it is very tasty.thanks mam for sharing your post...

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You lines are intriguing the Princess of Adsactly i must say beholding your face made me fall in love with your personality.

I admire people of success like you and how far you come to this point.

Thanks for sharing these lines there impactful.

I am me @brightfame

Thank you @princessmewmew . I just had some mashed potatoes a few days ago at Lubys. Yours look much better :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16