Recipe - Stew

in #food7 years ago

Aah, good old stew.

Stew

I'm still waiting for my delivery of mint extract. I've been wanting it for a while now, but shops in the Netherlands don't sell it. Apparently, Dutchies hate mint. Except for this Dutchie, she very much likes mint and wants to make her own mint chocolate.

Anyway, I've ordered it online, but it hasn't arrived yet. So while I can't try anything new yet, I want to share my Stew recipe with you. It's been posted on my Wordpress blog before, but hey, it's still winter and it is very tasty (and no one visits my blog anyway).

Basically, I like stew just the way it is, so I don’t mess around with it too much. I switch around the vegetables a bit and use other liquids sometimes (we were very sad we didn’t think about buying some Guiness to substitute the wine), but that’s about it. Oh, and some recipes call for flour.. I messed that up big time last winter, so no flour for me! I don’t miss it anyway. Here’s the basic recipe I use.

Ingredients:
– 500g Stew meat
– 400g Carrots (I mixed in some parsnip aswell)
– 2 Onions
– 500g Potatoes
– 400ml Red wine
– 400ml Water
– 3 Bay leaves
– 8 Cloves

  1. Cut up the onions in large pieces.
  2. Heat up plenty of butter in a large stew pan.
  3. Add the meat to the pan and sear on both sides for a couple of minutes on medium/high fire.
  4. Add the onions, wine, water, cloves and bay leaves and bring to a boil.
  5. Lower the fire to its lowest (maybe even move the pan to a smaller fire), put the lid on the pan and let this simmer for a couple of hours.
  6. About an hour before dinner: clean the carrots, cut them up in small pieces and add them to the mix.
  7. About half an hour before dinner: clean (or peel) your potatoes, cut them in smaller pieces and cook them untill they’re ready (about 15 mins after boiling, depending on the size of the pieces).
  8. Mix the potatoes and stew on your plate.

Enjoy!

So what’s your favorite winter comfort food?


Originally posted on my foodblog.

Sort:  

yamyam..... good power food!!

Yes! It's so tasty. Takes a while to make, but that's what weekends are for :D

@playfulfoodie why don't you join this? but then make a new one please one that's not been posted in your food blog :)

I'm definitely planning on joining that! It seems like a really fun thing to do :D
I just need a bit more time, which I will have in a couple of weeks.

I'm going to keep the lemon in mind though, if something comes up, I might try to make time sooner ;-)

Thank you for pointing it out to me!

@playfulfoodie great! but please know that the lemon theme is only on till Tuesday - NL time. You still have 49 hours to join and make your entry - after than it closes and another theme gets announced every Friday.

I've followed you, so I won't miss other themes :-)

@playfulfoodie geweldig!
Ik jou ook nog :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.00 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

delicous its very very

It really is! Thank you for your comment :-)

Looks very tasty

Thank you. It really was :-)

Most excellent winter food! In fact, just picked up a roast at the market yesterday for a nice pot roast tomorrow-- yum!

Ooh that sounds delicious!

It looks delicious! (unfortunately, I dont' eat meat! It will good for me if it's pork!) Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43