Asian Food - Bulgogi Beef Soup with Udon Noodles

in #food8 years ago

2016-01-31 19.42.43.jpg

I am crazy about food. I even dream about it.

When I moved to Berlin (2014), I decided that I wanted to work in a restaurant kitchen. I always had this passion for food and cook, but only to friends and family. So, why not challenge me to cook for customers. People that don’t know me and don’t care to break my heart if the beef is too salty.

And I did that, the first six months I worked in a molecular cuisine restaurant (I will write a post about that experience) and then an incredible Korean\Vietnamese fusion restaurant for almost a year.

For sure one of the most amazing experiences that I had! Not an easy life, thatI tell you. Still today I can feel my knees and ankles and tips of the hand toes in pain. But the adrenalin is so powerful that at that moment when you are doing your service you don’t even think! Just go go go!

And this soup that I bring to you is one of my favorite dishes ever. It is so cozy, and the flavor just takes you to another level. For a moment you just feel warm in a feather nest.

So let’s get started. First of all, for me, nothing better than Asian fusion food. Maybe that is why I decided to move to Bangkok.

This dish is a fusion between Korean and Japanese cuisine.

Bulgogi means fire meat in Korean. It is a marinade, which typically is made with beef, but you can always step forward and be creative. You can find this marinade in any Asian supermarket. They are high quality, and you don’t need to prepare it yourself.

Udon is a thick wheat flour noodle from Japan. You can use these noodles in any dish. They are fast to cook and absorb all the flavors that you add in.

Before I display the ingredients, I would like to make just a quick note. It is always great when you can cook or prepare everything by yourself. But nowadays you can buy products that will help you to cook faster, and you don’t feel that you have a second job while the kitchen. Some of the components of this recipe will be inside a package but don’t worry. You will still have the amazing flavor and also good quality in it.

Ingredients:

Bouillon in powder (Bio please!!!!)
Udon noodles – 500 grams
Beef – 250 grams
Bulgogi Marinade – 2 Tablespoons
Eggs - 2
Scallions – 2
Carrots - 1
Mushrooms – 100 grams
Sesame seeds – 2 Tablespoons

1 2 3 Let’s go!
This soup is going to be one of the fastest and delicious meals you can have, for sure.

Start by cutting the beef into thin slices and add the marinade. I use this trick, a plastic bag meat in, marinade in, mix everything very well. Close the plastic bag and fridge. Keep the marinade for about 40 minutes. You can do this the day before if you prefer.

Grab a pan and prepare the bouillon as the instructions in the package. I guarantee you that a good bio brand will provide you a healthy and flavor stock. When it is done reserve it.

Mise en place is about to start!Let’s get into the vegetables.
I use this fantastic Japanese mandolin that has different blades. It is an excellent tool to have in your kitchen. You can also cut with the knife the vegetables. Just do it the way you see it works better for you.

Time for a kitchen challenge! Egg with the yolk thick and runny!
It is easier than it looks. A pan with water and salt. Stove on. When the water starts to boil, carefully, add the eggs and clock it 4 minutes. Remove the pan from the stove and add cold water. I just let the water run from the tap to the pan. We need to be practical in a kitchen! When you feel the eggs cold, reserve them. Don’t peel them yet.

So we just need to cook the meat.
Add a spoon of olive oil, or any other oil that you use to cook, in a pan and cook the meat. Since the slices are thin, it is a quick process. Cook high heat so you can get a caramelization outside and retain all the juices inside.

You did a fantastic job! Let’s assemble everything and give you the meal you deserve!

Remember the pan with the stock? Stove medium low and reheat the stock with the udon noodles inside. It will take about 5 to 8 minutes till they are ready.

Grab a beautiful bowl. And a big one, I assure you will don’t regret it!

Put the stock and the udon noodles inside. And then it is decoration time. Beef, mushrooms, carrots, scallions and the eggs. You can compose as you prefer.

Sprinkle the sesame seeds on the top and voila! Final step dig in!!!You can use any ingredient that you like. Cook and eat, should be one of the most creative activities ever.

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and please share your Bulgogi Beef Soup with Udon Noodles and your thoughts.

“Cooking with love provides food to the soul.”

Sort:  

Hello @PaulaMachado,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you so much! :) It is really a pleasure to receive this prize!

@stevespring let me know if you tried this, please. You can also go deep Asian and prepare a marinade of soy sauce with a bit of water, just to cut a bit the saltiness. Peel the eggs and let them marinate in the sauce for a day. You will be surprised with the result! :)

Looks delicious I will follow. Congrads on your token

Thank you @happyhousewife ! :) It is really tasteful. Give me your feedback if you cook this recipe, please. Wish a great day! :)

Thanks You also have a great day!

@paulmachado I love bulgogi!
I don't eat beef anymore but I could just make the sauce and do chicken instead.
Please join the Steemit Culinary Challenge and show us what else you can do - the link on how to and what to do is here - https://steemit.com/steemitculinarychallenge/@englishtchrivy/winners-of-steemit-culinary-challenge-16-tacos-for-a-tech-savvy-and-new-theme-announcement

@englishtchrivy bulgogi is so tasteful. And that is the good part when you cook. You can use the ingredients that you love most. And reinvent the dishes. Thank you for the alert of the Challenge. I am going to check it out! :)

Bulgogi beef udon? It's very fusion. Looks good @paulamachado

Thank you. It is really tasteful. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36