THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS 28 - PURPLE DEADNETTLE

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This is another newer one for me!


As always with this series, I am not trying to give dietary, nutritional, or medical advice. I’m just enjoying learning about wild edibles and sharing my journey.

Purple Deadnettle may have "nettle" in the name, but unlike my friend Stinging Nettle, it has no sting. So, if you're wondering about eating something with "dead" in its name, or with "nettle" in its name for that matter, you don't have to worry.

Purple Deadnettle - Lamium purpureum

Purple Deadnettle is another smaller herbaceous wild plant that is originally from Eurasia. It has now been introduced and naturalized many other places around the world. Other common names for it include Purple Archangel, Red Deadnettle, and Red Henbit. While it is similar in many ways to Henbit, which I covered last time in this series, it is a different plant although they are in the same order, family, and genus.

That GIF above shows the difference between Purple Deadnettle and Henbit. The Purple Deadnettle looks a lot more like a true nettle, although the tiny hairs on it are not dangerous. Thankfully, if one was to confuse Henbit and Purple Deadnettle, it wouldn't make much of a difference since they are both edible. One of my favorite things about the look of this plant is the transition from green to purplish or reddish. I think that looks really interesting and beautiful.

HABITAT

Like so many other edible wild plants that are often considered to be weeds, Purple Deadnettle can be found in fields, lawns, ditches and "waste areas." Basically, anywhere where people are not constantly trying to kill off anything that they might consider to be a weed is a good place to look. In cities, I like checking abandoned lots with unkempt yards.

Since Purple Deadnettle is considered as a "winter broadleaf" plant, it can often be found very early in spring, and sometimes even in winter where there is no snow.

USES

Like many other wild edibles, Purple Deadnettle can be enjoyed either raw or cooked. It is great to add to a stir-fry and also mixes in well with salad greens. Since it is very similar to Henbit and since they both appear about the same time and can often be found growing together, I like mixing them both in. It is high in Fiber, Iron, and vitamins like Vitamin C, and the seeds contain antioxidants. Like so many other wonderful plants somehow classified as "weeds" this plant is also known to be antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, and antifungal!

PROPAGATION

Purple Deadnettle is another annual that reproduces by seed. Due to the early blooming of this plant, it can be a crucial source of nectar for bees and butterflies in late winter and early spring. With all the concern about the declining bee population recently, having available nectar sources is becoming more and more important. If you find some and plan on trying to eat it, make sure not to harvest it all. Please leave some for the bees, and let them go to seed after the bees are done with the flowers so that the plants can grow again next year!

source 1
source 2

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-purple-deadnettle

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

Thanks for useful info...:)...

There are so many medicinal plants that have been classified as weeds. I have never heard of deadnettle before, thanks for sharing..

It is very strange. People will kill all the anti-bacterial, anti-viral, anti-inflammatory, and anti-fungal plants growing in their own yard and then go to the pharmacy to buy manufactured drugs that do that same thing....

Exactly! I don't know about your country, but in my country our fore fathers were healthier than us in their own days.. Their was no modern medicine but they lived longer, healthier years in their own time. They used these plants as herbs.

I agree! That is the best way to go!

I have to confess the name deadnettle is so not sounding like something i would want to go down my throat.

Going on RN to check where this can grow because I've got a strange familiar feeling I've seen this around here.

What happened to your @papa-peeper gif by the way. I liked that gif.

You may have. It grows in a variety of places all over the earth. Let me know!

rare tree, but very useful could be for medicine, thank you for sharing @papa-pepper, hopefully many cultivate the effort.

I saw that plant in the woods here AR and I will go look for them to eat it. I like to pick the wild green onions too and boil it in my soup or ramen noodles.
If I was having to survive in the wild or Shxxt hit the fan, I want you with me to survive since you know so many edible plant and know how to be self sufficient.

If I was having to survive in the wild or Shxxt hit the fan, I want you with me to survive since you know so many edible plant and know how to be self sufficient.

Deal, you can join my team and I will feed you!

You know so much about plants @papa-pepper! It's very impressive! Thanks for sharing this with us!! 😃

Thank you for checking it out! You know that I love free food!

Btw, have you checked out my comment from before about the challenge I tagged you in? I guess it's kind of my pet project right now, and I'd love for you to join in! 😃

I did, I did! I'll try to complete it within 24 hours.... might be my next post!

Haha I know lol. I posted this right before you responded. 😉 I'm super grateful, thanks so much! 🙂

If you don't know about Eat The Weeds you should look that up. Tons of great info

What a weird name combination - and none can tell us about the plant.

What kind of flavour does it have?

Thank you so much! This is one I had been trying to recall for years. I remembered Granny telling me about it but could not recall the name.
Seems like she used it in some type of poultice. Well now I know the name I may try to look that part up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55