THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS 27 - HENBIT

in #food6 years ago

Free spring salad is once again in season!


As always with this series, I am not trying to give dietary, nutritional, or medical advice. I’m just enjoying learning about wild edibles and sharing my journey.

I had really meant to get to this wild edible last year, but at least I get a new opportunity with each new growing season. While it may have taken me a lot longer than I had planned, I'm still getting to share it, so here it is!

Henbit - Some of the first wild salad of the year!

Henbit (Lamium amplexicaule) is a member of the mint family that probably originated in Eurasia but has now been introduced and naturalized around the world, including here in North America. Since I've only really been researching and enjoying wild edibles for a few years now, this was one of the more recent species that I've encountered. In fact, when I first stumbled upon it in the wild, I saw so much of it that I hoped it was good for something. As it turns out, it sure is!

HABITAT

Henbit can be found in a variety of locations including fields, lawns, and what are commonly known as "waste areas." It is an annual herb in the mint family and can be useful in preventing erosion. Moreover, it provides an important supply of nectar for bees and hummingbirds, plus some animals enjoy eating both the plant and the seeds.

It shows up early in the spring and once you know what you are looking for, you might find it all over the place. Recently we even found some growing in the parking lot at the dentist, as pictured above. It can sprawl across the ground and make an attractive covering too, especially when it is in bloom!

USES

Like many other wild edibles, Henbit can be enjoyed either raw or cooked. The leaves, stems, and flowers of the plant are all edible. Although it is a member of the mint family, it does not really taste like many other mints. While I eat most of the henbit that I find raw in the wild, it can be added raw to salads or cooked in stir-fries or stews.

PROPAGATION

Since Henbit is an annual, it reseeds itself from seed each year. This means that if you want it some back, make sure not to eat it all before it flowers and goes to seed. I've not collected any of the seeds yet, but I know many areas where this plant grows in abundance.

A few other common wild edibles that look somewhat similar are Creeping Charlie and Purple Deadnettle. I've previously covered Creeping Charlie, and I think that Purple Deadnettle may be next on my list. Enjoying and learning about foraging for wild edibles is not only a great way to eat healthy for free, but also a potentially life-saving survival skill. I'd personally rather know what wild plants can be eaten than to end up in a desperate situation with no clue. Feel free to follow along. I'll continue to share as I continue to learn!

source 1
source 2

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-henbit

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

Thanks @ papa-pepper ...
post which is very useful for me who always read post @ papa-pepper ....

Great information dear @papa-pepper

Your are doing awesome all the time .
That photography is awesome too .

Bit one thing . your proof pics are always funny hahahhaha .
I saw them it make me laugh .
Whats the reason behind this

It's just a joke, but it also shows that I took the photos and made the post. Mostly just for fun!

Hahaha great it is . but funny too . keep it up

Thanks for your sharing usefull and informative article, i like it and upvote and resteem your post to more than 1350 my follower, greeting friendship from me @abialfatih in aceh indonesia

Good post papa,,,good information, thanks

Mama Splatts was digging into edible plants a while back. When she was telling me stuff all the different wild plants that edible, my mind was blown!! Of course I don’t remember them but now you have provided a great place of reference.
Get your grub on!!

It is really amazing how much free food is laying on the ground out there! We love it!

Wow it can be eaten raw , I wonder what it taste likes.. what a useful plant , thank you so much for sharing, I hope it has some medicinal purposes though

The flowers are very sweet. The leaves taste more... well, healthy

thank you for sharing

Wow .. Beautiful plant, new this time i see .. This can add to my supervision about the plant .. Thanks for sharing @papa-pepper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.94
ETH 3266.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64