PICKLED QUAIL EGGS!!!

in #food6 years ago

This was a fun idea, and a great family project!


Yesterday, we pickled our first quail eggs ever! I'm not sure what kind of milestone that is a homesteader's progress, but we reached it anyway!

HOW WE PICKLED OUR QUAIL EGGS

I had been saving up our quail eggs for a while to try this one. When my mom and @grandpa-pepper were down, they mentioned seeing some pickled quail eggs on their travels, so we thought we'd give it a try. Our process was rather simple, and the results are not exactly in yet, but we'll give you a chance to check out what we did.

While we put some water on to boil, we got some ice water ready. This part is important.

We boiled the quail eggs for two minutes by bringing the water to a boil and then putting in the eggs and timing them. I think I had to boil four separate batches to get them all done.

After two minutes I removed the eggs and place them immediately into the ice water.

After our four batches had been boiled and cooled, here is what they looked like. Yeah, that is one big pile!

To assist with the removal of the egg shells, I enlisted the @little-peppers. I was only going to let Pinkie-Pepper and Red-Pepper try at first, but then I thought that the littler ones might as well get some experience. Plus, who knows? They might actually be good at it.

Soon we were hard at work. This was another time when having so many helpers certainly made things go a lot more quickly. Kids can sure be helpful!

Even though she is only three years old, Sweet-Pepper did excellent! She had to remind me mutiple times that I wasn't going to let her try at first. Yes, I was very blessed by her help, and she really did an incredible job.

Monster Truck the Pepper, age five, was amazing. In fact, he was the quickest out of us all. Eventually we figured out that he was cracking the entire shell rather than just part, which made the removal of the shell much easier. You never know what you can learn from a five year old. Thanks son!

It still took a bit, but eventually we had two large bowls full; one bowl of the shells and one bowl of the tiny, de-shelled, hard boiled quail eggs.

These quail eggshells will be added to our raised beds. We love not wasting things and this will actually be really beneficial for some of our plants.

As you can see, we still needed to rinse them off, but they were all shell free and proud to be. One step closer to being pickled!

For our pickling solution I used half water and half white vinegar. Then, we added some pickling salt and the juice from one lemon. It's simple, but it should work out well. We then heated the mixture on the stove.

While waiting for the mixture to get ready, I filled the jars with the eggs. We got six jars ready just in case, but we actually only needed three. you can sure fit a lot of quail eggs in a quart jar!

Once the vinegar mixture was brought to a boil we were ready. Things were really heating up!

We covered the eggs in the liquid and just about filled the jars. Since we were just going to put them in the cooler we didn't hot water bath or pressure cook them, but they sealed up anyway.

Here they are! Three tasty jars of quail eggs beginning the pickling process! We'll give them a bit to get fully penetrated, but we really can't wait to test them out! Thanks again for the quail @armadillocreek!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-quail-eggs-getting-pickled

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

The part I enjoy is the family biz.
Everyone get involved.
I just wondered no quail eggs get eating in the process, the broken one?
Keep on steemin'

I just wondered no quail eggs get eating in the process, the broken one?

You are absolutely correct. Some, maybe ten or less, were pretty broken in the process and were eaten and enjoyed by the @little-peppers!

Cool to see how bonded you guys are.
Happy home happy family.

I am so happy they are of such great value to you! Enjoy those eggs, they are a really tasty treat!

Are they going to ferment in the fridge? How do they taste? Looks like a great project for the entire family. Quail eggs are so cute! Will try one day!

We will give them a few days in the fridge first and then try them. I'll let you know.

Time well spent!...:)...

wow ,,, this is a very great idea, I really like this quail egg.
I often buy in the market for my stew, wow it feels.
what else you make a very good pickle.

Job well done, Peppers! Many hands make the load lighter. My family lives that rule, otherwise, I would be exhausted and nobody else will have learned anything.

I eat quail eggs, but I have never tried pickling them. You made it look so simple or at least doable, so I may give that a shot.

Monster truck really showed off his skills. I know where to go when I need an egg peeling partner. I love the way you incorporate learning and fun.

Keep on Steeming!

Tip!

Thank you for everything! That means a lot to me to read it!

Hi @papa-pepper! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Memorial Day Salute Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Lovely looking this baby, and i like eating this eggs. thanks for sharing this post. upvote and resteemit done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65848.40
ETH 3007.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73