MY PITAYA - There's a Dragon(fruit) in My Garden

in #food8 years ago

Since Papa is a fan of strange and bizarre foods, it should come as no surprise that I have a dragon in my garden. Actually, I have many, in the form of Pitaya plants, also known as DRAGONFRUIT!

It all started last winter when I was considering what to grow in my garden this year, and in the years to come. I ordered some of the pruned cuttings of these great succulent plants from a Pitaya grower in Florida, and soon I had something to work with. I had never tasted the fruit, but I did know quite a bit about them, and was eager to begin to grow my own.

When I planted the cuttings, some began to grow new sections right away. Others just sat there, remaining dormant.

Some even began to die back, and shrunk from 18 inches down to just a few. Still, I know enough about plants to know that if there is still some green, there is still a chance, because the plant has not completely died.

Before too long, even the ones that had been dying back began to grow new sections.

Never give up on a plant! Some will surprise you if you only wait.

So they kept growing and growing, sending their roots deeper into the soil and making more new sections.

I used a lot of organic material and rabbit manure to make sure that these plants had plenty of nutrients.

A few times, some even flowered for a moment, but thankfully the young flowers fell off. I say thankfully because these plants most likely did not have the root system necessary to produce mature fruit anyway, and I'd rather have them invest their energy in new growth.

In their native tropical wilds, they will climb up trees and actually root directly into the bark as well, which helps to hold these plants upright. A few of mine began to shoot out roots higher up as well.

Finally, I found some ripe fruit at a grocery store outside of Branson, MO. For the first time in my life, I would get to taste the legendary Dragonfruit.

The fruit itself is quite large, and certainly has an interesting look to it. It is the peculiar look of the fruit that gives this plant its common name, dragonfruit.

Once sliced open, the amazing color of this variety immediately struck me. From what I understand, dragonfruit comes in two main colors on the inside, either the bright pink or magenta variety, or a white fleshed version. I'm not sure what kind mine are, but the one I picked up was the bright pink kind.

Once inside of this strange fruit, you may be wondering how to eat it.

The thick skin easily peels off of the tender flesh. The flesh can be eaten as is, or used in a variety of desserts and fruit dishes, including smoothies.

I can't wait until next year when I can hopefully begin to grow my own. I'll need to keep these indoors or in a greenhouse for the winter, but if I can keep them alive, I should be able to grow my own fruit next year.

On the inside, these amazing plants look very similar to a Kiwi, in that they have a fantastic color and many tiny black seeds. If you know much about @papa-pepper, then you'll already know that I like to find seeds.

I like to take a few of the seeds and clean them off. Then, I place them on a wet paper towel.

Next I'll stick that paper towel in a plastic bag, inflate it, and seal it. Then I'll place it in a sunny location and wait.

Within a few days, the seeds should start to sprout!

Here is what they looked like earlier today. This means that any variety I can get my hands on, I should be able to grow. Even if the cuttings that I got were from the white-fleshed variety, now I have some of the pink-fleshed variety growing as well.

I'm glad that I finally got to try to eat some of the fruit from this amazing plant, and I'm also glad that I can at least try to grow my own. What a blessing it is to be able to enjoy so many different varieties of food from around the world, and even grow some yourself.

For more on propagating the pitaya plant, check out this post:

papa-peppers Guide to Plant Propagation - Prickly Pear & Pitaya


As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:


proof-of-papa-and-pitaya



FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

I grew up eating home grown food, its one thing my father was good at unfortunately I haven't got the garden space to grow much, must be lovely to see your own food growing :)

Yeah, too many people have space restrictions these days, but I'm glad to see others using what they've got.

@future24 has a wonderful balcony garden, and sometimes people can get an incredible blessing from just a few pots.

Thanks @karenb54!

If I wasnt disabled I would have tried a few pots

Thanks @virtualgrowth.

I appreciate all of your effort to make steemit a success.

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 13 Nov 2016 - 23:35 UTC

MY PITAYA - There's a Dragon(fruit) in My Garden — Steemit

steemit.com/food/@papa-pep… / https://t.co/DV4n5s0I3a

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

You are a bot that is helpful, in my opinion.

Thanks!

amazing content @papa-pepper ,i am into dragonfruits myself and as soon as i have some picture of my garden i will share with you. keep up the good work!

Please do. I love seeing what others are up to in their gardens.

Earlier this year I even shipped out a bunch of free seeds to some other users just to encourage them to grow more of their own food.

Glad to hear that you are a fan of dragonfruit too!

Spot on! It does look delicious :D

It is delicious, plus it has a strange, almost "melt in your mouth" consistency to it.

I was very glad to finally get to try it!

Thanks @handsolo!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@papa-pepper, when I saw this I couldn't read it cause I was busy but I bookmarked it and finally read.
Thank you for sharing how to grow the dragon fruit, I've been trying for some time but nothing works, I'll try again this summer :).
It used to be so cheap in the Philippines, they just sometimes drop and don't even get eaten but after some scientist said it has cancer fighting capacity - it got too expensive there so having your own is really essential.
Thanks a great lot!

Yeah, by getting just one fruit you could grow your own, if you are patient!

I also like being able to trust the source, so if I am the source, it should be trustable!

@papa-pepper I couldn't say more!
I'll get back at you when I get to do it and grow some !

Nice. I prefer the dragon fruit that is red inside. The white one is less tasty to me. It's interesting to see these grow in America. .☺

They grow a lot in Texas and Florida in the US, maybe California or other places too.

I have not yet tried the white kind, so I'll keep my eyes open.

Thanks @ace108.

Yaaaay they have grown :) you told me you were growing some back in the summer , great to see they have taken and grown- next year fruit hopefully.
attached the smoothie blog i did for Dragon in a Glass - now that you can get them give it a go.
https://steemit.com/recipes/@ladypenelope1/dragon-in-a-glass-a-sweet-and-fruity-energy-blast

I might have to pick some up and make your recipe.

Thanks for sharing it!

let me know what you think to them - funny little fruits :)

Upvoted by @gardening-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @gardening-trail

Excellent!

I like having a trail in my garden!

Just so you don't feel like you are being trailed in your garden! :O

I want this in my garden too :) Great post.

You should try it!

If you can find the fruit somewhere, you can just start your own from seed.

Hey, if you're in the US, I can even ship you some for free!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55