Quinoa Porridge with Caramelized Fruits

in #food5 years ago

Hello steemians, 

How are you today? Hope to found you good and full of energy! 

For me, it's a 'neeehhhh' day. I'm very tired. Of everything, not just one thing! Don't get me wrong, I'm good and I've never been so alive. But there are things that make us tired and busy, that's all. You enjoy your life but in the end of the day, you just feel you're done. I guess it's part of this game called life! 

Good and bad, we must have it all, right!?

Anyway, I took my time to write this recipe for you. You know I love breakfast and this is that kind of breakfast I make really often. Easy peasy in a few minutes! Maybe you can give it a try! 

Quinoa Nutrition Data 

Here are just a few words about quinoa, maybe you get inspired to consume it more often! 

Quinoa Flakes are basically pressed quinoa, so they have the same properties as quinoa seeds.  Since quinoa flakes are flat, they mimic the texture of rolled oats, which means that you can replace oats with these nutritious tiny seeds anytime. 

Data on Wikipedia

Raw, uncooked quinoa is 13% water, 64% carbohydrates, 14% protein, and 6% fat. Nutritional evaluations indicate that a 100 g (3.5 oz) serving of raw quinoa seeds is a rich source (20% or higher of the Daily Value, DV) of protein, dietary fiber, several B vitamins, including 46% DV for folate, and the dietary minerals magnesium, phosphorus, and manganese.
After cooking, which is the typical preparation for eating the seeds, quinoa is 72% water, 21% carbohydrates, 4% protein, and 2% fat.[17] In a 100 g (3.5 oz) serving, cooked quinoa provides 120 kcal (500 kJ) and is a rich source of manganese and phosphorus (30% and 22% DV, respectively), and a moderate source (10–19% DV) of dietary fiber, folate, and the dietary minerals, iron, zinc, and magnesium.

Here you can find more nutrition facts about quinoa.

INGREDIENTS:


Porridge:

  • 1 cup of quinoa flakes 
  • 2 cups plant based milk 
  • 1-2 Tbsp maple syrup (you can replace it with agave, honey, stevia etc)
  • one cm of vanilla bean 
  • one pinch of cinnamon


Topping:

  • 1-2 peaches
  • 4-5 plums
  • some raspberries
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • honey (or any other sweetener)
  • cinnamon

INSTRUCTIONS:


1. Please, read here in my previous post, how to make the quinoa porridge. There are just a few quick steps you must follow. It's the same as oatmeal making, so basically you need to boil the milk and add the flakes. DONE!

2. For making the topping, cut in large peaces the peaches. Split the plums in halves. Put everything in a pan and cook for 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally. You can add the raspberries in the last minute, not from the beginning. 

3. Assemble everything in a bowl and sprinkle some coconut flakes (optional)


This is my kind of breakfast!! ❤️❤️

Healthy, fruity, delicious and easy to make! 

Maybe you can try it too! You can use other fruits if you don't have the ones I used in my recipe. It's all up to you.


Thanks for reading, 

Stay healthy and enjoy life, people!!

Cause LIFE is beautiful! 

Miss Deli


Proud new member of #Naturalmedicine Team.

LOTS OF NATURAL HEALING AND LOVE TO YOU ALL!! ❤️

 Join us on Discord here - we'd love to have you! 

Join our Discord Channel here

Sort:  

Congratulations @missdeli! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Aleg zmeura, piersicile si mierea de acolo. Quinoa e ok ca si gust dar nu ma dau in vant dupa ea :) iar de prune is satul de cand eram mic prune prune, gem de prune compot de prune, aveam o gramada de pruni :))))

Posted using Partiko Android

La fel si aici. Prune prune...prune!!
Dar macar sunt bio pana in ziua de azi. :d


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This is an amazingly delicious breakfast just by looking at the picture and reading the recpe 😉 are you a vegan?
Have you ever tried to share your recipe on #fruitsandveggiesmonday ?

It's only on monday.. and I suggest you to check on @vegansofsteemit.. let's share our wonderful world of cooking the fruits and veggies ... thanks for sharing😉

Hello @cicisaja! Yes, I know #fruitsandveggiesmonday and actually, I participated a few times in the past and yes, I'm also on discord with @vegansofsteemit community. The problem is that I have so little time these days, that's why we didn't know each other until now :) Well, in the last few months I was pretty busy to say so. My steemit activity was little but I hope to have mroe time from now on.
Thank you for commenting and appreciating my post!
Cheers from Romania.

Woow, it looks so tasty! 😊

Thank you @nesni996! It was indeed:d

I love my breakfast too but I prefer to go with a smoothie/smoothie bowl as I'm not that sure about the texture of porridge. I have tried a few but didn't like them. I haven't tried to make it with quinoa though so I might give it a chance and see what happens :)

I love your toppings! YUM!!

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!

Well, you won't know until you try it @delishtreats! I would tell this porridge has the consistency of oatmeal, or at least it goes in the same direction.
AND YES, honestly I LOVE the toppings! They are in a complete sinergy! SO YUMMY!!
Thanks for the support and for stopping by!
Have a great week ahead!
Cheers from Romania.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88