Home Made Italian Limoncello!

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Super easy and tastes just like the stuff you get in Amalfi or Sorrento, in fact better!

Having traveled the south coast of Italy a couple of years ago I fell in love with Limoncello, that fabulously lemony, sweet, after dinner aperitif. A lot of the Amalfi locals make their own and one who owned a shop gave me this recipe and laughed at my surprise at how easy it looked. I have made it lots and it's great.

There are two parts to this recipe, this first one involves hiding your mix away in a cupboard for four weeks so this is part 1 and in four weeks I will put up part 2!

You will need

5 unwaxed lemons (I use Amalfi lemons)
1 litre of decent vodka (strong as you can get)
1 kilo of white caster sugar
1 litre of water

A large airtight jar to store the fine Italian hooch in.

That's it!!

To make

Using a sharp knife or lemon zester peel the zest from the lemons. Try not to get to much of the white pith in as it's fairly bitter.

A handsome Italiano merrily zesting

Now sterilise your jar, I pour boiling water in and over mine and let sit for ten minutes. You can also wallop it in a hot oven for ten minutes.

Put your freshly peeled zest in the jar and pour your vodka over it.

Put in a cupboard for four weeks, taking it out every few days and giving it a gentle shake.

Can you believe it, that's part 1! All you can do now is wait out that four weeks. This let's the zest infuse the vodka until it's pungently strong.

And after that all that's left is to simmer the sugar in the water and add to the lemony vodka!!

So in 4 weeks you will be drinking this!!

some I made at the start of summer, it's running out!!

I will post this post plus part two in exactly four weeks time and shall insert a video of me sampling the goods too!!

See you in a month!

Sort:  

You defo should! The next bit I will post in a few weeks is really easy its just making a sugar syrup and combining them. Its awesome tasting!

Thats Fantastic!!!!You so funny!!!)))

I try a bit!!! :0)

Mmmm, I love Limoncello!! Have you got a recipe for black sambuca too?

I have enjoyed a few times Limoncello, but I think it's a little to strong for me.

This one is slightly weaker than the Italian one. In Italy they use grain spirit which is about 50% alcohol, here I only use 40% vodka and in the next step you dilute it by half with sugar syrup so it ends up being only about twenty percent which is nice and weak ;o)

Well that's better I guess. The ones I drank in Italy were pretty strong.

Same here, I remember being rather drunk quite a lot! Not even deliberately!

Can't drink alcohol but I can make it without. Nothing beats a fresh cold home made lemonade on a hot day!

Its cool that you say that as I had never thought of making it without! dont know what that says about me lol!

Yummy! I have no lemons but maybe a squirt of Cif lemon would do the job?

It would certainly ahem clean the pipes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48