Are Desserts Really Necessary?

in #food6 years ago

Hello Friends,

Here I am Lucia again trying to find a good and virtuous topic to inscribe and share at the same time to learn about.

So the topic for today is "Desserts".


One of the great joys after a good main meal is the dessert. Children love them and the elderly feel that they finish the meal. The problem is that they are usually full of calories and contribute to obesity and even diabetes in all ages. There are some excellent alternatives, like a piece of fruit or a smoothie. In my young days we were also encouraged to have jam in the bread as a good filling if we were still hungry. Fresh and spreadable bread is delicious.

cronutmilkshake2.jpeg

My children were always given a dessert because that's how it was in my family. But now it's almost unheard of and we're all better for it.

Some desserts are worse than others because they contain cream or are full of ice cream or custard. Those who promote these dressings are usually cakes or cooked fruits, such as apples. Who does not love a pavlova or chocolate éclairs, and the calorie count in them has to be high due to sugar and cream.

So, what's on our palate that allows us to take such foods in the first place. Until the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, sugar was virtually unknown because it came from the New World with explorers like Christopher Columbus. Then it was such a luxury that only the richest could afford it. The kings, like Henry VIII, became extremely fat and loved his indulgence so much that he had ulcers on all his legs, shocking teeth and was probably diabetic.

The manufacture of chocolate took off between the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, when chefs added sugar to the raw material and converted it into beverages and later into commercial products. Now it is part of your daily diet for many. Children receive chocolate candy from babies and become addicted to it. Adults are also so addicted that they feast, as I used to do.

When my sugar levels increased and I was pre-diabetic, the doctor advised me to stop eating sweets. When asked how to overcome desire, his advice was that once you stop eating sugar, the craving ceases. It is perfectly true. Now I have very little sugar or salt in my diet and I know that the desire has completely disappeared.

None of my children is addicted to him either because they saw the light. With a good healthy diet, it is not necessary to spoil substances that are not healthy and cause other problems, such as obesity, diabetes and tooth loss. The desserts would have to be the first thing to cut out of a meal since they are unnecessary.


Images Source


Read my other posts...

https://steemit.com/health/@luciamuresan/cancer-can-be-healed-spiritually
https://steemit.com/world/@luciamuresan/is-global-warming-the-fault-of-human-morality-or-spirituality
https://steemit.com/travel/@luciamuresan/tour-experience-of-cauayan-negros-occidental-punta-bulata-resort-and-spa
https://steemit.com/health/@luciamuresan/how-important-is-a-bath-compared-to-a-shower
https://steemit.com/food/@luciamuresan/what-is-your-favorite-tea
https://steemit.com/energy/@luciamuresan/the-energy-crisis-facing-australia


luciamuresan_border.png

So friends, upvote & follow me if you like my thoughts and share your thoughts in comments.

Bye for now, Take care...

luciamuresan_upvote.jpg

Regards from: @luciamuresan

luciamuresan_border.png

Sort:  

waaw il love it

Looks very delicious, when I see this post made me very hungry. I would like to invite you to join my food challenge. You can win Steem dollar and steem from me.

https://steemit.com/foodchallenge/@chanthasam/win-steem-dollar-and-get-steem-with-food-challenge

Thanks, Upvoted from @chanthasam

it add flare to our eating habits but should be controlled cause it can be harmful to us especially where to much sugar is been used

You are right. Desserts contribute to chronic illnesses that a lot of people are faced with today. Consuming all that sugar is just inviting a lot of unnecessary health problems. I don't eat dessert, neither does my family.

Thank you for this great post about sugar! Is it so true that it makes us addicted - I used to eat a small piece of chocolate each day and without it I felt nervous and unhappy. When I tried to cut out on my sugar intake, the first two weeks were harsh and it needed some discipline to stay off these processed sweets. But nowadays I don‘t even blink when passing the supermarket section with all these indulgences 😁
Instead, I am munching on my fruits and boost my energy with healthy smoothies ☺️

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 5.86% upvote!
I was summoned by luciamuresan. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56