My Health Chronicles: Eating (Almost) Healthy within Budget – Within MYR 1

in #food7 years ago

I have MYR 36 left in my wallet until the end of the month

WHAT???

How do you survive with just THAT until the end of the month?

That's what most of my friends would have responded to me. And some do not even believe it is possible at all.

It is actually true for those who relies on outside food services to cater their 3 meals, especially eating healthy food.
But for me, since I have started the healthy food journey within budget I will do my very best to share with you all how I can still managed to stay healthy and within budget whenever I have the time to prepare it at home.

And today, I would like to present to you...

This

Would you like to take a guess what it is?
(Unfortunately there's no bonus here, because it will be revealed later)

Thanks to technology and innovation of small electric kitchen appliances, one can actually easily prepare something like this for a fraction of price.

If you have read my old posts before you would have noticed that I have once wrote an electric appliance review on how it works and my rate for it at Tried and Tested: Egg Steamer from Shopee

It is a tiny investment that I have come to love and I am using it as frequent as I can.

And what better to try it with all other kinds of food?

Like using one of the latest FÖRTROLIG tempered glass food container that cost only less than 2 SBD; and as far as I know has withstood countable times using the steamer that I bought?

(Note: I don't work for Ikea, but I love their recent range and it is more affordable in the long run)


Plus recently, I have acquainted a few sprouting onions from @gtpjfoodbank 's store during food packing since it was no longer suitable for distribution, and I was blessed with fresh spring onions after they survived the snail attacks.

Oh, how joyful to receive the harvest it was... although it is not much yet.

So with 2 eggs, spring onions, herbs and spices mixed in a tempered glass container and put into the steamer for 9 minutes, you get a yummy home made steam egg ready to be consumed during lunch!

Oh and I did mentioned it was (almost) healthy because I added some luncheon meat I was blessed with by the Food Bank during one of my help out days.

When you give, be ready to always receive surprises in return!

So here is my method below.

Home Made 200ml capacity Steam Egg

  • 2 eggs (mid sized / Type B)
  • A handful of Spring Onions
  • A dash of rock salt
  • A dash of mixed herbs
    Optional
    Some slice of ham / canned meat / crab stick
    (If you need a healthier version, you can pre-steam your meat and cut it to smaller sizes)

Preparation for steam egg

Beat 2 eggs into the container gently
Add approximately 3 tablespoon of water.
Do not whip it until it is bubbled if you want a smoother texture.
mix other ingredients like spring onions / other meat gently
Place it into a steamer. You may use any kind of ceramic or tempered glass containers.

Tip: The shallower the surface, the less steaming time required.

Usual steaming time takes about 7 - 9 minutes. So if you are not fussy with the suface of the egg, then it is ok.

But if you do, especially when you are only steaming with egg and nothing else, there's a trick is to keep the lid open a tiny bit so that the steam goes out a little and some how, it creates a smooth surface. I tried that before. If you are using a wok with an enclosed lid, you will need to check it at 5 mins.

I do hope that this MYR 1 (0.25 SBD) worth of a small meal sharing will convince you that as long as you are creative and thrifty, you can pretty much prepare anything and avoid a lot of expensive expenses outside.

Thank you for your time

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.

Sort:  

You can find money, but you can never buy health.

keep it up sis!

Thanks @cikxiajien ! You are so right on the buying health side although the marketing will tell you otherwise (on supplements). They'll rather you destroy your health first then replenish it back with supplements. lol.
Thanks so much stopping by!

another 3 days till month end... RM36 for one person for 3 days should be still ok, if you don't need to top up petrol and not going through any tolls...

My dear @elizacheng , you and I are the thrifty bunch and the best part was I got a RM10 voucher for patrol when I got a Umobile sim card for testing Steemit registration for the food bank. So that part covered; otherwise you are right, with toll and patrol, I won't be able to survive until the end of the month.
Right now I am just stretching myself a bit to see how far I can go without going to the ATM to withdraw anything extra.

But seriously eggs is really one of the cheapest yet the most filling and healthy choice of dietary, and steaming is another great option to cut down all the nasty unhealthy way of cooking.

Thanks so much again for stopping by! Appreciated!

you are most welcome!

That amount of money really can last until the end of the month. I understand because I am broke too LOL..but in my case I have 2 young kids with large appetite so it's more challenging. Thank you for the recipe. Love it :)

Ah, kids, when they are growing up nothing seemed enough lol.
Probably have to use those like french toast / even something more fibre (if they are ok with it) or home made meatballs plus rice (with flour - if they are not gluten intolerant) to fill the tummies!

I might try that next time, when I finish my available resources and see what else I can do for a thrifty healthy meal recipe!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Yes french toast is usually my 'last resort' meal LOL. I will try the meatballs. See if they like them. Thanks!

You can try with tomato sauce if you are making fried meatballs @coloringship . My mom used to do that a lot and occasionally she will do it for her grandkids and they love it!

Nice - amazing how much you can do with very little if you put your mind to it!!

That is very correct @holbein81. We have forgotten the simplest ingredients create wonders, and especially when we have nothing else to eat but we have raw ingredients, creativity (for survival) will eventually spark!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

at first sight, I thought was chendol! lol
healthy and easy, bit like steam omelet to me :)

haha... that was exactly my other friends thought at first sight. I purposely took a picture with the spicy sauce at the right sight hoping to throw off the dessert mindset at first glance but I guess it was too small of a patch. lol.
And yes, you are right, it does sound like a steam omelet minus off the cheese and other ingredients.
Thank you so much for stopping by!

No prob! Great sharing too :)
Support team malaysia too ma

Thank you! Thank you!

Most welcome!

Omg I miss steam egg so much! yummy!

I should ask someone to cook for me one! lol

Well, the recipe is there at your disposal. :)

Yet I still want to look for someone to cook for me! LoL

Yummy, that looks and sounds really good. I'm getting hungry.

It's absolutely true that you CAN eat healthy on a budget. One thing is to grow herbs in pots in your windowsill- even when living in an apartment you can have fresh herbs to tastify your meals :)

Great share!

You are very much correct @arbitrarykitten ! We have been fooled by the fastfood / health marketing that healthy foods must be expensive.
Simple things sometimes are the best for our body.
Unfortunately for the climate in Malaysia, even herbs near the windowsill may not have a chance to live for the sun can be quite strong (depending on whether it is sunrise or sunset).
Plus the humid hot weather, they have more chances to live in an airy location.

Right now I am just loving my spring onions... and I will try to pray some vinegar (mixed with water) on them to keep any pests away.

Glad you like it! Thank you so much for stopping by!

Yummm, I love steamed (steem? lol) egg! My mum used to make it for us too - with and without minced meat! In fact, I prefer the smooth meatless variety... Thanks for sharing your recipe! Good luck with stretching your budget til month-end!! :)

LOL. Love the pun @ackhoo !
So far it is almost the end of the month and I have RM20 left thanks to thrifty economy rice meals (without the rice, only eating the veges).
I love the smooth variety too but it is not as filling as with a bit of meat and vegetables when I don't eat rice during weekdays.

Thanks so much for stopping by.

Nothing will get you "cooking creatively" faster than running out of money before you run out of month! Food is something you absolutely have to have to function -- but it's also one of the few places where you can economize if you wind up with unexpected bills. It doesn't feel like it should be this way. I keep envisioning a different world. Until it arrives, I sympathize. Eggs ... and oatmeal ... and canned soup have gotten us all through some lean times through the years -- from college -- to "between jobs" -- to crap-my-car-just-broke-down. October 1 is just around the corner, girl. Steam those eggs ... and hold on!

lol thanks for the cheering on @enchantedspirit !
Unfortunately after calculating everything that I need for my parents from next year onwards, getting them over to the capital city will overshoot my expenses by 200 USD (and I will have no savings at all!)

There will be more steam eggs and porridge for me and my parents until I can actually have enough niche to have an extra steady income in Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39