Reeses Peanut Butter Cup Cake Recipe

in #food7 years ago

DSC_0091.JPG

A few days ago we had a meetup at our old favorite La Tortuga and I made dessert for everyone that came out. I'm not sure what John expected me to come up with, but when I told him I was making a chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting he seemed genuinely surprised. Not sure why, it's one of the most natural combinations on the planet.

DSC_0057.JPG

This cake was so good, the perfect blend of peanut butter and chocolate. I was even honestly surprised at how heavenly this cake turned out. I'm thinking a cupcake version soon....

What you need
Cake
2 cups white sugar
1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 c unsweetened cocao powder
1.5 t baking powder
1.5 t baking soda
1 t salt
2 eggs
1 c milk
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 cup boiling water

Frosting:
1 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup butter
2.5 cup powdered sugar
2-3 T milk

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit
2) Butter and flour two nine in pans, I used spring form with decent results.
3) Combine sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and soda, and salt and whisk until well combined.
4) Add the eggs, milk, butter and vanilla and mix well.
5) Add in the boiling water, stirring until combined
6) Pour half in each pan and bake for about a half hour or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.
7) Allow to cool to room temperature, then prepare the frosting.
8) Cream the butter and peanut butter together until smooth.
9) Add powdered sugar the mix until thats combined, it should be crumbly at this point.
10) Add a few tablespoons of milk and blend until smooth. Frost, chill for a half hour then it's ready to serve.

DSC_0060.JPG

DSC_0116.JPG

Stay tuned for the whole dump of the photos from this post. We're switching up format a little here, so bear with us!

Separator-2-Lily-Vine.png

Check out some of my other recent posts!
Bacon Butter Garlic Tilapia Hot Spinach Salad
Fumed Green Black and White Spoon Pipe Practice Photo Shoot
Farm Update: Finished Terraces with Happy Birds
The Shelf From Hell: Why Employing People Sucks Part 5

Separator-2-Lily-Vine-3.png

If you liked this, don't forget to: upvote and resteem this post, follow me and comment with your thoughts below!!

Main-sign.jpg

Thanks everyone! Until Next time!

Sort:  

Yum! Can't go wrong with chocolate and peanut butter! This is a family favorite. I want to put a layer of chopped Reese's in the middle... or on top. Or both. Haha

I recommend it, if you do make a post and mention me in it! Ill share it if you do!

Awesome! Sounds like a plan! Thanks!

Looks tasty! Will try this at home :)

Let me know your results!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51