Mexican Beaches: La Brisa de Oro Restaurant in Pie de la Cuesta

in #food6 years ago

This is a shot of the restaurant we stopped at yesterday for lunch after visiting the archeological zone in the city. This restaurant is actually not in Acapulco at local Pie de la Cuesta. The photo above was actually taken from the beach of the place, when I ventured to take photos of other things you'll see later in this post.

Something very common on Mexican beaches that can be somewhat of a nightmare for some tourists is the fact that there will be people selling both food and souveners on the beach. They walk the shore all day and they're pretty persistant for sales especially when expats are involved. We'd successfully said no to several yesterday but the guy with the fruit got us. This cup of pineapple is 40 pesos.

Here's the view from where we were sitting. They've apparently got beds on the beach for napping as well as a giant life guard chair you'll see later.

They had an interesting shrimp dish called "camarones puesta del sol" which is basically garlic butter shrimp with the seriously delicious addition of orange juice. More on that later. I also got a small order of ceviche. John got the coconut fried shrimp and the shrimp tacos.



Our waiter was nothing short of extremely old and slow, but it was actually charming. He got our order wrong, forgetting my order completely but he handled it well, partially because we were so cool about it. It seemed like he was determined to work even though it took him 3 minutes to walk from the table to the bar.

When John's food arrived it was clear my food wasn't coming unless I asked for it, so I did. He looked embarrassed and brought me the ceviche almost immediatley because it's a cold dish. Now for those who don't know, ceviche is a Mexican classic that's essentially acid cooked fish. They combine fish, vinegar or lime juice and other veggies with salt and allow them to soak for more than a day. By the time you eat it, it seems like a cold soup and the fish is cooked by the acid. The texture makes it seem like it was actually cooked but it wasn't. This is likely the best ceviche I've had.

That's John's plate of shrimp tacos. It's halfway eaten because they were that good, eaten before I got a chance to take the photo. Seriously the best sea food taco I've had. Super tasty, not spicy unless you add the hot sauce.

And the coconut shrimp, less good but still tasty. I have yet to really be a fan of this dish in general, to be honest. The sweet throws me off.

I had to wait a bit extra for this but I'm honestly so glad I did. It was seriously the best shrimp dish I've had and I'll likely try to recreate it.

There were a pair of these damations and one black dog similar in stature that seemed to belong to the people who owned the place. They were trained to not bother customers but they were determined to sit on the laps of anyone in the family that would let them.

A life guard chair so big I had to take a photo of it.

Or three.

We've been to three restaurants now in Pie de la Cuesta and this one so far is my favourite. We almost didn't go because I thought it might have been a resort, which it was but many resorts here are also restaurants open to the public.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Adventures Around Acapulco, Part 11: Pie de la Cuesta
Mexican Beaches: El Marinero Beachside Restaurant in Pie de la Cuesta
Mexican Beaches: Pie de la Cuesta

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 1
Turtle Brownie Cups
Mexican Motorcycle Adventures: A Quick Trip Out Beyond Bonfil

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

As always im a huge fan of your adventures. Have an amazing day sweetheart.

This is good health and delicious food, I appreciate your traveling.... personally I
love mexco country.

Thanks for introducing this place with us, the main attraction in this post is foodie stuff and all dishes reflecting really awesome and eye-catching with delicious essence, definitely with this kind of beautiful beach view, we can enjoy our food stuff and can give great pleasure to our tummy. And in my opinion the add on effect of this post is, the dog, and it's really adorable to watch. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

incredible adventure, you seem to be a great adventurer, I loved the photos, the place is great, the food looks exquisite, who has enjoyed this great place, greetings from Colombia, here I wait for you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47