Lamb Speedies Herb Cured Meat Recipe

in #food6 years ago

My love for corned beef caused @pauliepro to suggest I try speedies. After pestering him to pester his mother for this recipe, I finally made it a few months ago and have planned on making it several times since, just never getting the chance. We got a lamb shank from Walmart last week and I used the massive amount of meat it yielded as an excuse to make speedies.

I’ve been told some of the magic is in using the fattier bits of meat and some of the meat I cleaned off the leg of the lamb was perfect for it. I used most of it in a roast that we ate over the next several days in various forms but probably used over a pound of it to make speedies

3 c oil
1 c vinegar
6 cloves garlic, chopped
2 T salt
2 T basil
2 T parsley
2 T Oregano
1 t worsteshire sauce
Over a pound of lamb shank with fatty bits cut unto squares

You combine everything above in a seal able container. Make sure all the meat is covered, if it’s not use less meat. Put this in the fridge for 5-7 days. Remove from the sauce, put on skewers and grill until the meat is cooked completely. This is best served with bread or tortillas, I served it with garlic cheese bread and blue corn tortillas.

The lamb worked way better than the leaner cuts of pork and beef I used during my first adventures with this dish. It’s true it’s better with fat although I’ll admit I repeatedly thought my whole grill was on fire because of the amount of smoke produced by the fat from the lamb while grilling.

The leftovers of this is great chopped finely and sauteed in butter. I use it to mix into breakfasts, top salads and all sorts of other things because it provides almost a bacon like quality to dishes.

Check out the links below for more like this one!

The Speedy Saga, Part 1: The Marinade
The Speedy Saga, Part 1: The Grill
Dutch Baby German Pancake

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Farm Update: Hurricane Weather Filled Our Rain Harvesting Pool Making for Epic Pecking Duck Play Time
Farm Update: Both Bunnies are Boys
Learning How to Edit with Darktable

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Sort:  

BBQ can not get any better then this. The view over the city is fantastic!

I woke up just and see your post with some kabab loved it, You made my day.
Thanks @lily-da-vine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72