Fermentation Adventures: How to Kill Your Ginger Bug and Bring it Back to Life

in #food7 years ago

I nearly killed my ginger bugs guys and by that I mean I just majorly slacked on feeding them. Once really active and established you can go up to a week or more if you need to without feeding but I'll be honest when I say other things were just more important at the time. I managed to bring back my larger ginger bug and start a smaller one with it so I'm still brewing.

I started a new batch of lemon lime ginger beer with limes from our tree. I started three quarts with what was basically sweet lemonade as the base with the ginger starter added.

This bowl worth of starter, both pulp and juice, was split between three quart jars that I filled to the top with juice and covered with a coffee filter. They'll sit on my fridge for a few days to ferment, then will be bottled to build fizz.

This is an easy, quick and super active ferment so it's a lot of fun but also mildly dangerous as explosions are common. Never leave a pressurized bottle at room temperature for more than a few days lest you risk literal explosion.

A ginger bug is live when there are those bubbles and air pockets. When there are none it's not active. You can try feeding it but within 24 hours if there are no bubbles it's dead. I saved the big one but not the small one which is technically the first in this ginger bug family.

I do want to add as a note that a dead ginger bug is not technically a failure but a successful finished ferment of it's own. As long as there is no mold it's still fine if it's not bubbling, it's just not good for brewing. I distributed this among my birds today as they love themselves a ferment.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

How to Feed Your Ginger Bug
Fermentation Adventures: Ginger Beer Success
Fermentation Adventures: Growing and Expanding Ginger Bugs

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Cinnamon Crumb Cake with Goat Cheese Swirl Recipe and Food Photo Shoot
Adventures into Mexican Markets: American Hershey's Brand Candy in Acapulco with Throwback Labels
Acapulco Bay: Cruise Ship Season is Underway

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Cool. I've got lots of lemon and orange trees and have been growing ginger. I'm going to have to try this out. Also going to check out your other posts. Cheers.

You've got literally the best excuse to do this.

I hope you collect all of these in a lily - da -vine book. Good post as always.

I'm going to post link lists soon as "books" for now lol

Why would u wanna kill something tho :(

....wasn't on purpose....

Thats interesting, and educative , nice finding dear, keep it up. love your post, am new here in steemit , juet a day old , hope i will see more of your findings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34