Cajeta Tortuga Recipe (Goat Milk Caramel Turtles with Sea Salt)

in #food6 years ago

I've always loved the candy turtle but I've admittedly never made my own. I finally got down to business last week and made them featuring mexican cajeta, goat milk caramel and sea salt. It turned out better than I could have hoped, a recipe I'll likely make again.

Ingredients:

Raw Pecans
Avocado Oil
Sea Salt
Chocolate Chips, I used milk
Cocoa butter
Storebought caramel sauce, cajeta

I roasted the pecans at 400 F for about 10 minutes in a light coating of avocado oil. It was around a quarter kilo of pecans.

I started the chocolate melting process by melting a tiny bit cocoa butter in the bowl before adding a small spoonful of yogurt and a little almond milk with chocolate chips over a double boiler with water to avoid burning the chocolate.

It looked like this when it was ready.

Arrange the pecans like this on parchment paper.

I added a little butter to this pan and the entire bottle of cajeta and boiled it down. I tested it with the cold water method until it hit soft ball stage and considered it done. This was all done on low heat with constant stirring.

A little caramel on each...

Then a little chocolate on top.

A sprinkle of salt and chill.

I gave a few away and put most in the fridge to eat at over a few days. They are now gone.

A cloudy shot to show the changing seasons.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Cajeta Tortuga Photo Shoot (Goat Milk Caramel Turtles with Sea Salt)
The Speedy Saga, Part 1: The Marinade
Going Bananas in Acapulco, One more Time: Avocado Oil Vegan Plantain Chips

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: The Seasons are Changing 4
Anarchaforko Anarchapulco Fork Update: @smartcash and the Musical Stylings of @larkenrose and @dragonanarchist
Acapulco Sunsets: The Seasons are Changing 3

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

WoW! Fabulous!

wow...excellent food...I appreciate your blog...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46