Sunday Cook #1 Roasted chicken

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Since I was a child my mom cooked more elaborate dishes on Sundays. Probably because she had a catholic education and Sunday is a family day.
During university time, as I passed some weekends in Évora, I started my own Sunday cooks, guess it comforts me. My last roommates in Lisbon, when I left to Évora, said they would miss my Sunday fragrant cooks...so that's when I realised I really had that routine!!

What is Sunday Cook?!

On Sundays, I like to prepare more elaborate and delicious food. Usually, I cook some traditional Portuguese food, or at least with Portuguese inspiration :) I try to do it in a healthier way, using the minimum fat as possible :p

During the week I don't like to spend much time cooking (no time at all), that's why I get totally motivated to cook on Sundays!!

I though it would be nice to share this with Steemit community. This is Sunday n.º 1!

Hope you enjoy!! :)

This Sunday I cooked:

- Vegetable cream - also my recipe

- Roasted Chicken DSC_180419a70.jpg

Ingredients

  • chicken (2,5 kg)
  • 3 lemons
  • 1 big onion
  • garlic
  • black pepper
  • red-pepper (a bit spicy)
  • sweet-pepper
  • salt
  • olive oil
  • laurel
  • parsley

DSC_179036ce4.jpg

Preparation

If you want the chicken to get flavour, you'll need to season it with lemon juice, chopped garlic, black pepper, red-pepper, sweet-pepper and salt, a couple of hours before. Usually, I do it on Saturday afternoon/ night, and put it in the fridge.
DSC_1737c5787.jpg

Pre-heat the oven 180 ºC - 200ºC.
Pick a roaster tray and cover it with sliced onion. Then join the chicken, seasoned gravy, laurel, and parsley. Add the olive oil and it is ready to go to the oven (180ºC), for about 1h30m!

DSC_17711bab2.md.jpg
DSC_1776899ff.md.jpg
DSC_1779d6719.md.jpg
DSC_17810798a.md.jpg

I like to watch the roasting process, and for more flavour, we can sprinkle the chicken with the sauce accumulated in the tray :p

DSC_1801e67a5.md.jpgDSC_1808e4955.md.jpg

When cooked, serve it :) This week the perfect combination was cabbage and white rice, but feel free to eat it with spaghetti, mashed potatoes or just vegetables!

DSC_1818755e6.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this sharing!! I can assure you this was pretty yummy!!

I will come back with other Sunday cook delicious :D Stay tuned!!

Sort:  

The one who doesn't get hungry reading this post is a jaded fool on a diet!

Thanks for this kind comment! Made me smile! :D

Nothing wrong with a good Catholic upbringing Liliana! That chicken look like a great Sunday lunch. Be perfect with a glass of white wine too :)) YUM!! Up-voted and Resteemed!

It was a great Sunday lunch indeed. Wanted to share it on Sunday, but I didn't had enough time and also hadn't my steemitimg account active.

Problem solved and steem is "ON" again!

So glad you found your Steem switch ;)

Looks awesome! I shouldn't read these posts while hungry...LOL

Thanks!! It was tasty indeed. Stay tuned for Sunday Cook #2 ;)

Well done @liliana.duarte! Your post is part of the Steemitrecipes Daily Picks - Entry 028!

TIP: @steemitrecipes joined forces with @food-trail, using the #food-trail & #steemitrecipes tags may help curators find your awesome recipes.

Thank you for the advice! Already updated the tags here :)

@liliana.duarte here are the results of the Steemit Culinary Challenge.
Thank you very much for participating. Prizes would be wired directly to you by sponsors soon.

UaU!!Many thanks for challenging us!! It is very good, I feel great! :)

Yum
I"ll Take Chicken On Sunday!
:)

Nice! I would love to get some feedback...(if you had time) :)

I'll be giving this a try....sounds so good. I love cabbage and have never served it in a wedge like that - I'm going to do that as well. Thanks for a really comforting recipe.

Glad you liked it :)

It's a lot easier to prepare and cook, I take the outer cabbage leaves and wash it separately and cut the rest in 4 (wedge).

Thanks! I'll definitely give it a go....maybe even tonight. I am in the mood for cabbage, carrots and onions.....I think they call that bubble and squeak on the east coast of Canada, probably in Britain too.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44