STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 23: Crispy oat chicken

in #food7 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I last entered on a SCC, but this week I had to prepare something! I didn't know the japanese word otsumami but I promptly loved the idea as I'm a huge fan of small snacks while drinking and chatting​.

Depending on the type of snack (otsumami) I would like to drink wine (olives, cheese, chorizo, ham) or beer (salty or crispy snacks). But as the weather gets warm I tend to prefer beer, so I've chosen to prepare something that would go fine with it!!

My first entry on SCC 23 is easily prepared and it's great to serve at home or take outside! Ah, and it's also easy to prepare (did I mentioned that before?!)

DSC_6708_Ed.jpg

Ingredients:

  • chicken breasts de-boned and cuted in pieces
  • oats
  • 1 egg white
  • salt and pepper (to taste)
  • lemon
    pjimage(1).jpg

Preparation

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and season the chicken with salt and pepper.
  2. Drain the chicken and dip into the egg white and then into the oatmeal to coat each piece evenly.
    DSC_6664(1).jpg
  3. Place it on a baking tray, covered with baking paper.
    DSC_6665(1).jpg
  4. Bake in for 15 minutes on one side. Turn the pieces to the other side and bake for 10 minutes (or until the chicken pieces are well browned).
    DSC_6670(1).jpg
  5. I like to serve it at room temperature, so I've waited about 20-30 minutes.
    DSC_6690(1).jpg

It's time to plate!!

DSC_6696(1).jpg
When serving sprinkle with lemon juice.
I've chosen the national beer Sagres...it's the most common on Alentejo region.
DSC_6708.JPG

This "otsumami" can be used as a snack, or a meal if you served this with a salad!!

DSC_6731(1).jpg

As you may have notice it is a healthy one!!

Hope you enjoyed!!


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Nice to see you again this week Liliana! I've never thought of using oats this way, but what an excellent idea! I will try this out with some vegetables I think... and I like how easy it is :-) Anyone who eats meat will surely want to try this snack, which accompanies beer perfectly (I used to love the combo before I was vegetarian). Good luck @liliana.duarte!

Yes, this is really a good combination and healthy too!

@liliana.duarte chicken and oats huh interesting combi ...
good luck!

Thanks! It's great for summer days, I'm sure I'll repeat this at least once a month ;)

Congratulations @liliana.duarte! A delicious looking recipe, well done!

Amazing!! It was a pleasure to enter in the challenge this week :)

Congrats on third place in the challenge. Fantastic food post

Thanks! It was simple and tasty, more will be cooked in hot summer days! :)

ohhhh looks good!! great recipe.... good luck....🌮👍🥂

Thank you so much!! Now you also know what I've lunched!! I promise I won't share my dinner, it's too much food information for one day! ;)
Good luck to you too! :D

Haha everything good ..... we love eating...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54