Lemon Square Raw Dessert (that Really Tastes Lemony)!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago

Have you ever made a lemony dessert because you really wanted that yummy lemon taste, only to taste it and find it was greatly lacking in the lemon punch you oh-so wanted? What a bummer, right?

I tried to get it for a while. From a lemon meringue pie, to lemon yogi balls, but I found the lemon flavor to always be severely lacking.

That is, until I found this dessert!

Feast your eyes on lemony goodness :)

IMG_20180213_180840.jpg

Apologies for the quality of photos, as it's from an LG G3. I'm not a pro-photographer ;)

The number of ingredient is low, so it's really simple to make as far as I'm concerned!

Raw Vegan Lemon Square Recipe

Ingredients

Crust:

  • 1/2 cup dates, pitted
  • 2/3 cup walnuts, almonds, pumpkin seeds, whatever you want (the originally recipe had far too few nuts for an adequate crust)
  • 1 to 2 Tbsp lemon zest (optional, but adds to the lemon flavor)
  • Pinch of salt

Filling:

  • 1 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes or 1/2 cup coconut butter
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup or 2 pitted dates
  • 2 Tbsp lemon zest (organic preferred) - from about 2 lemons
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (from 2-3 lemons)
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp or more turmeric for color

Instructions

  1. In a food processor, chop the dates, nuts, and salt until a dough-like consistency is formed. Add more nuts or dates as you see fit to get the crust thickness you want.
  2. In an 8x8 pan lined with parchment paper, press the crust into the bottom in an even layer. Wet your hands slightly, it is sticky.
  3. In a food processor or blender add the coconut flakes and process until smooth and creamy.
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients to the coconut butter and blend until smooth.
  5. Adjust sweetener as needed, but remember the crust is sweet as well.
  6. Pour the lemon mixture onto the crust and let set in the fridge for at least one hour.
  7. Cut into bars.

IMG_20180213_180606.jpg

Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to one week.


I hope it's simple enough for you and you want to try them out!

They are delicious :D

Enjoy!


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50.

Sort:  

That looks really good! I used to hate lemon anything, excluding lemonade, but my wife loves lemons and I have developed a taste for it.

Great! Try it out, a good dessert to have each night. I ate one per night with my girlfriend until they were gone :)

Super delicious and healthy recipe @krnel, thank you so much for joining us
🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

You're welcome :) There are two fruits hehe, not much :P

Ooooh, I love all things lemon! 🍋 Thank you for sharing this, I also always find that lemon flavor in desserts is so weak - I love the zing of a strong lemon flavor 🤤

Thank you for sharing this - I cannot wait to give it a try! 😱

Thanks you for sharing a good recipe lemon. I wait for the next post from you

Good posting

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:16:14
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for imformasi friends hopefully useful for us all .. Lemon is super clean and fragrant

I wish i go just have a taste of fresh organic Dessert, salivating☺

This seems like something I want to try out! :D

Really ,the procedure is simple enough and i will try it out!.thanks you so much ,the appearance of it is so ! so attractive to be embraced.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51