Learn about bibimbap and Jeonju's unique version in South Korea

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Bibim means to mix and bap means rice, and together they form bibimbap, a popular Korean dish where a bowl of steamed rice is topped with a variety of ingredients and the eater mixes it all up to his tastes with a savoury sauce. In South Korea, different variations exist in different cities and Jeonju is known for its raw beef version. I was backpacking in Jeonju last year and was fortunate to have someone local show me around. For lunch, she took me to Hankookkwan (한국관) a restaurant known for bibimbaps in the Hanok Village neighborhood. We ordered a raw beef version and also a dolsot bibimbap which comes in a hot stone bowl.

raw beef bibimbap.jpg
Raw beef bibimbap before mixing, isn't it beautiful?

Before our food came, we were served our complimentary panchan which are a variety of little side dishes for snacking on. Each Korean restaurant gives their own assortment of panchan and it’s always free. It’s one of my favourite parts about eating Korean food because it’s always a fun surprise to see what dishes will arrive. North American Korean restaurants will do this as well, but usually it’s not a s generous or interesting.

panchanvariety.jpg
Great selection of panchan here with different kimchis, onion pancake, potato salad and more.

My raw beef bibimbap arrived in a beautiful gold bowl. Jeonju is a town of history and many old palaces so it felt quite regal to be served in such a dish (though the restaurant itself is very casual). I think this was the most beautiful bibimbap I’ve ever eaten. Vegetables like zucchini, spinach, carrots and fernbrake were arranged so neatly and there was bright red mound of seasoned minced beef in the middle. The scattering of sesame seeds and egg yolk added to the lovely appearance of the dish. The small greenish ball resting on the egg is a gingko nut and this was my first time trying one. They are really tasty and starchy like a potato with a thin pea like skin on the outside. I mixed everything together with a spicy gochujang pepper paste before eating.

bibimbap before and after.jpg
Before and after mixing.

My new friend’s dolsot bibimbap came in a thick hot stone bowl and had the same toppings as mine, except hers was with cooked beef and no sesame seeds. This dish is meant to be mixed very quickly with the sauce and left to rest because the rice touching the bowl will become crispy from the hot stone. While you’re waiting for your rice to crisp, you can start eating the rice on top. This version of bibimbap is more common in South Korea and I’ve seen it at many restaurants in Toronto. I recommend you try it if you come across it.

dolsot bibimbap.jpg
Hot stone bowl bibimbap with cooked beef.

I love bibimbaps because they are really fun to eat and the toppings can vary but it always has a lot of different textures and flavours. This restaurant doesn’t have an English name written on the outside but Hankkookwan is the phonetic pronunciation of its Korean name 한국관. Keep an eye out for this sign:

P1015959.JPG

Have you tried bibimbap before? How did you like it? Let me know if you have any questions! Thanks for reading!

Hankookkwan (한국관)
31 Taejo-ro, Wansan-gu, Jeonju, Jeollabuk-do, South Korea
+82-63-232-0074
More info.

Follow me at @jellyfishdonut for more posts on food and travel!

Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @jellyfishdonut. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jellyfishdonut to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

looks very tasty. Is it really so?

Yes, they are delicious! The vegetables are always seasoned already and the gochujang pepper paste as some spiciness and a little sweetness to the dish. Thanks for reading!

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 7.14 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @fabulousfungi.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

Congratulations @jellyfishdonut! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That looks so delicious! I have had bibimbap many times in NYC Korean town. But, none ever looked that delicious. I would like to go eat my way through Korea! I was wondering if the raw beef bibimbap became cooked when you mixed it with the hot rice?

Hey @chefsteve! I went to South Korea last year and was lucky enough to try many dishes in different cities. I hope you can experience that one day as well! The beef actually doesn't end up getting cooked really because the bowl itself isn't hot and the rice is served hot but not hot enough to cook the beef. The beef is already seasoned so it doesn't have a raw/bloody taste to it if that makes sense in case you're not a fan of raw beef. It's quite delicious and I bet you would love it!

Thanks for the info. I do like raw beef. I know that some dishes are served in super heated bowls and I was thinking I hope it does not cook the beef! That is great, the texture of the raw beef would be perfect with the warm rice and added vegetables. thanks for sharing.

No problem! Thanks for reading! Also, not really related, but have you had poke before? It was the food trend last year in Toronto but originates from Hawaii. It's cubes of raw fish like salmon that's been marinated and served over rice with vegetables. I think you would enjoy that too.

Yes, I love Poke! I had it for the first time when I went to Hawaii for my wedding 13 years ago. I prefer poke to tartare because the chunks of fish are larger. Sometimes people make tartare almost into a paste. The same poke trend hit NYC last year too!

Awesome! I prefer poke to tartare as well. I bet Toronto caught wind of the NYC poke trend and that's how ours started because before last year we didn't even have one poke place and now there's one in every neighborhood!

Now in NYC the new trend is charcoal infused foods. But it is funny because that has been popular in Asia for several years now. I would come back from Asia and tell people I had charcoal ice-cream or charcoal croissants and they thought I was nuts. Now everyone talking about charcoal as if it was created in NYC!

Haha!! Omg, that's the food trend in Toronto right now too!! Seems like we just have the same trends. People are lining up down a whole block for charcoal ice cream here!

looks lovely, thank you... saw you on @OCD

Thanks for reading! I'm super flattered that @OCD wanted to feature me. :D

Oh my, that looks delish! Great post! :)

I love bibimbap!

It's awesome! :D

I did another recipe for you.

I am glad to see the photo of Bibimbab as a Korean! I love bibimbab, too!:)

I love Korean food! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29