You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learn about bibimbap and Jeonju's unique version in South Korea

in #food7 years ago

That looks so delicious! I have had bibimbap many times in NYC Korean town. But, none ever looked that delicious. I would like to go eat my way through Korea! I was wondering if the raw beef bibimbap became cooked when you mixed it with the hot rice?

Sort:  

Hey @chefsteve! I went to South Korea last year and was lucky enough to try many dishes in different cities. I hope you can experience that one day as well! The beef actually doesn't end up getting cooked really because the bowl itself isn't hot and the rice is served hot but not hot enough to cook the beef. The beef is already seasoned so it doesn't have a raw/bloody taste to it if that makes sense in case you're not a fan of raw beef. It's quite delicious and I bet you would love it!

Thanks for the info. I do like raw beef. I know that some dishes are served in super heated bowls and I was thinking I hope it does not cook the beef! That is great, the texture of the raw beef would be perfect with the warm rice and added vegetables. thanks for sharing.

No problem! Thanks for reading! Also, not really related, but have you had poke before? It was the food trend last year in Toronto but originates from Hawaii. It's cubes of raw fish like salmon that's been marinated and served over rice with vegetables. I think you would enjoy that too.

Yes, I love Poke! I had it for the first time when I went to Hawaii for my wedding 13 years ago. I prefer poke to tartare because the chunks of fish are larger. Sometimes people make tartare almost into a paste. The same poke trend hit NYC last year too!

Awesome! I prefer poke to tartare as well. I bet Toronto caught wind of the NYC poke trend and that's how ours started because before last year we didn't even have one poke place and now there's one in every neighborhood!

Now in NYC the new trend is charcoal infused foods. But it is funny because that has been popular in Asia for several years now. I would come back from Asia and tell people I had charcoal ice-cream or charcoal croissants and they thought I was nuts. Now everyone talking about charcoal as if it was created in NYC!

Haha!! Omg, that's the food trend in Toronto right now too!! Seems like we just have the same trends. People are lining up down a whole block for charcoal ice cream here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
SBD 2.55