Go Buy Some Crumpets - An American Crumpet Review - Thanks to @mattclarke

in #food7 years ago (edited)

An American Crumpet Review - Thanks to @mattclarke

Growing up I never experienced the wonders of a 'Crumpet' before. The term was always used when talking to British kids over Xbox Live. "Go have some Tea & Crumpets", we would say as they'd call us fat Americans. It was harmless trash talking and we were speaking without even knowing who was behind the mic, or what a crumpet even was for that matter. Little did we know that we were telling them to do something glorious....

IMG_4321.JPG

I was recently browsing around in the food section on ChainBB and I came across an intriguing post by @ceciliakeirstead about 'Crumpets'. See that post here: https://steemit.com/food/@ceciliakeirstead/the-latest-craze-and-i-ll-pay-it-forward

It looked very interesting... like a fluffy english muffin combined with a pancake. Could it be that McDonald's 'McGriddles' were just Crumpets in disguise after all these years? I had to find out. I left a comment on @ceciliakeirstead's post saying that I might hit up good ol' Trader Joe to give them a try myself. The next thing I know I have a notification in my wallet

1.JPG

@mattclarke had sent me 5 SBD to go buy some crumpets. I was ecstatic! I had to find crumpets as soon as possible, and so I went off on my quest.

Thanks to @ceciliakeirstead's post, I knew exactly where to start: Trader Joe's

IMG_4145.JPG

I haven't been to a Trader Joe's in well over a year. It was actually awesome (even for a Saturday morning). I wanted to buy everything in the store. But I was there on a mission and this Breakfast Nook section was calling my name:

IMG_4141.JPG

Hidden in the depths of the shelvage were the crumpets themselves. They came in 2 flavors: Original and Cinnamon. I love everything with cinnamon so of course I had to go with those. The package says 'British Style' ... I wonder if the Australians make them differently. @mattclarke can you attest?!

IMG_4143.JPG
IMG_4150.JPG

I could not leave the store without snagging some heady jam to go along with my crumpets because from what I hear that is what you're supposed to do with crumpets. I went over to the jam section and was instantly overwhelmed by the size of the selection. Once again, I wanted to buy them all.

IMG_4144.JPG

I went with this Super Fruit spread because I was feeling pretty damn Super on this Saturday morning. I was at Trader Joe's buying crumpets paid for with Steem Dollars by a friendly Aussie bloke on the internet. The Super Fruit spread consisted of Morello Cherries, Red Grapes, Blueberries and Pomegranates. It sounded like the perfect topping for a first time crumpet eater like myself.

IMG_4149.JPG

I gave the directions a quick glance and it said to heat until crispy and golden brown. I threw it into the toaster and waited as patiently as I could. At first feel, the texture was firm, dense and weird but I assumed as it got toasted it would lighten up.

IMG_4152.JPG

I decided I would put butter on the crumpet first, and then add jam on top. That is the way I like to eat my toast sometimes so I figured it would be a great idea. I gave the crumpet a look and it seemed to be toasty, so I took it out and got ready to load it up.

IMG_4154.JPG

The hot, crispy crumpet acted as a sponge for the butter, soaking it deep into it's pores. It was actually quite marvelous the way it worked. I added a hefty layer of the Super Fruit jam and got myself ready to indulge. At this point I was absolutely stoked for what was about to go down.

IMG_4156.JPG

As I went to take the first bite I quickly stopped myself. The words from all of those years on Xbox Live rang out from a voice in my head: "Go have some tea & crumpets!" they said. I realized this meal would not be complete without some tea. But it was 90 degrees in July and I certainly was not going to pour myself a cup of hot tea, so I settled for some iced green.

IMG_4155.JPG

At last! It was time for me to take the first bite of my crumpet. My little dog looked on with excitement, I believe he wanted a crumpet too. I was absolutely delighted, this thing was incredible. It truly was a super fluffy english muffin pancake contraption. I'm not quite sure why (or how) I went a quarter century of my life without ever seeing or eating a crumpet. All I know is I have a lot of crumpet eating to do to make up for all of those years.

IMG_4157.JPG

A very special thank you to @mattclarke for making this all possible.
Another thank you to @ceciliakeirstead for making her crumpet post and leading me to the wonderful land of Trader Joe's! If I never stumbled upon it, my life would continue to lack crumpets and that would be a damn shame.

I want to continue the 'Pay-It-Forward Crumpet Campaign' and donate 5 SBD to another lucky Steem User who has lived a life without Crumpets.

Crumpet Contest Details

In order to be eligible to win 5 SBD, please follow me, upvote this post and leave a comment stating that you have never tried a crumpet, and why you would like to try one. I will select one lucky Steemian to win after 7 days based upon the best overall response (at my own discretion). The winner should intend to make a post documenting their crumpet quest. Re-Steem's get brownie points. And I like brownies.

Good Luck and Happy STEEMing!



----------->
Terps & CBD's! <----------
---------> Save $40 Off Your Next Adventure Using AirBNB! <---------
---------> Buy $100 Of Bitcoin and Get An Additional $10 FREE <--------
--------->Buy Anything on AMAZON using Bitcoin! Save up to 15%<--------
-----------> Enter E-Mail to Access The LBRY - Receive LBRY Credits! <----------

Sort:  

I find this entire post absolutely hilarious! I'm so glad you've finally experienced the joys of crumpets! (and that you even topped them with ORGANIC jam!) I have to say, they don't look exactly the same as our British ones. I think ours are slightly thicker with more holes - you might want to look up our favourite brand - Warburton's crumpets. As a crumpet lover myself I do appreciate the effort you've put into the detailed description of your crumpet journey, you've really done it justice.
Thank you for sharing your crumpet experience with us, it has truely made my day :)

Thanks for stopping by! I will definitely look for some Warburtons online. I am officially a proud crumpet lover too! So happy you liked my post :)

Lol this is great! Unfortunately I have had a crumpet before, as my old man is British. But I will enjoy admiring everyone else first-time crumpet experiences :)

Haha thank you. Be happy that you were introduced to crumpets, I was missing out big time!

Lol yes indeed!

I've never had a crumpet before!! As another fellow fat American who would "joke" to British Xbox live players about tea and crumpets I now know I was sadly mistaken as giving a compliment in my unknowlingly poor insult. Please pick me to win your contest! My journey will be properly documented as was yours! Great post thanks for sharing and thank you for considering my comment in your competition!!

Haha thank you! Miss those Xbox days. Best of luck, crumpets are amazing.

Hope you enjoy your crumpets :)

mmmm crumpets are great :) if you wanna try it the real aussie way you can add some butter and vegemite on top hehe :) you'll either love it or hate it! i love it!

I have never tried Vegemite, I only heard it from Down Under by the Men at Work... After reading up on it, it does not sound too appetizing.

Love your post! And learned something news today... Crumpets!!! Not sure if I will be able to find them here, but if I do I'll def try them out!

Great to see the cultural exchange going strong. @tlester has challenged me to try deep fried twinkies, so I'll have to hop from my derriere (get off my ass) and track some down.
You're officially refined now :)

Also, that jam sounds incredible. (thought you guys called it 'Jelly'?)
Morello cherry, grape, blueberry and pomegranite.
Our jams/conserves are a little more basic.
Strawberry, raspberry or apricot.
That's pretty much it.

This jam is definitely amazing... as for the deep fried Twinkies, that's something I still need to try too. They sell them at the Big E county fair every year but I have never felt adventurous enough! Maybe this September I will give it a go

Lol, I just got back into checking my Steemit after having poor Internet access... I paid it forward to you before I saw this post! Maybe your contest can have two winners or something haha. I'm glad you tried and liked it!

Thanks @ceciliakeirstead ! I will award @ndre1224 with some crumpets and continue with the contest :) STEEM on my friend! Enjoy your crumpets and thank you for your post :)

Awesome! Thanks, and I'm so happy that you carried it on!

It's a great campaign! Perhaps it will continue on until every person on Earth has tried a crumpet. We can only hope!

Steem for crumpets!

nice post ,,, you have good blog , Good luck. Comrade

great post amazing
thank you
always supporting you

thank you

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 1.19 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @jeffjagoe. Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71084.64
ETH 3864.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52