The Latest Craze -- And I'll Pay it Forward!

in #food7 years ago

Last week, there was a revelation on Steemit: Americans don’t typically eat crumpets, as the food is uncommon in the United States. One Australian user, @mattclarke , went to remedy this by sending Americans a couple of Steem Dollars with instructions to go buy some crumpets.

I don’t know how many people he hit up with this mission, but there are too many Americans for him to fund everyone’s crumpet experiments. So, I’ll share my experience trying this new food, and I’ll pay it forward and send a few SBD to the top American* commenter in a few days… as long as they promise to try crumpets and then pay it forward to someone else!

FullSizeRender 9.jpg

I went to Trader Joe’s for my crumpets. I figured I could order some online somehow, but then I came across an ad for TJ’s “British Style” crumpets in regular and cinnamon varieties. They were less than $3 for each pack of 6, so I decided to try both.

What are crumpets? They’re like the lovechild of a pancake and an English muffin. The top features the “nooks and crannies” of an open English muffin, but the bottom is smooth like a flapjack. They’re super absorbent, so any toppings will soak right in, instead of just sitting on top like a bagel.

IMG_3880.JPG

I tried the crumpets several different ways and shared them with friends. Apparently you just heat them up or toast them, then top them with whatever you normally top your breakfast breads with. First, my boyfriend and I tried the original crumpets with honey and peach preserves. We agreed that they were pretty enjoyable.

IMG_3882.JPG

The next day, I tried the cinnamon ones with pure Vermont maple syrup. Those got a little messy and required a fork and knife. I was trying to get a photo with syrup pooled on top like you see on pancakes or waffles, but the crumpets sucked the syrup right up. Later, we tried them with just butter, which melted into the crumpets and was simple yet delicious.

FullSizeRender 8.jpg

My most adventurous version included cinnamon, raspberry jam, and hemp seeds. It’s the health food version! Grain, fruit, and plant protein! It was actually a nice combination of textures, to have the somewhat spongy crumpet with the jam and the nutty hemp hearts. You can see the inner texture of the crumpet here.

IMG_3908.JPG

Anyway, I really enjoyed this and would buy them again. Thanks Matt for introducing me to crumpets! I can’t wait to share with more crumpet-lacking folks. Plus, check out @tlester 's crumpet post! Who knows, maybe #americanseatingcrumpets will become a thing?

xo,

Cecilia

*If you're not from the United States but still not from someplace with crumpets, you're totally eligible too.

Sort:  

haha I have definitely never tried crumpets but awesome that you enjoyed them. I'll make sure to get me some, when i find them! Followed you love your stuff :)

I'm glad you like what I post! I think you'll enjoy crumpets too if you try them

Love. Love. Love this! @ceciliakeirstead! Haha. Your pictures are AWESOME by the way. I'm so glad you found some! Yum! Thanks @mattclarke. :)

Haha you gave me the idea to make a post! I'm glad you liked the pictures, too. It's like we're sharing an experience around the world!

Interesting. Never seen such a thing. It kind of looks like an English Muffin. I might have to hit up good ol' Trader Joe soon

Totally! And you could probably find some exotic or organic toppings there, too. They have some good stuff.

That's for sure!

You've got the top comment, so I'm paying forward the crumpet love! Enjoy, and I hope you pay it forward to someone else eventually!

The one you gave me was pretty good, thanks! I topped mine with some grass-fed butter.

Go #teamcharlotte! Anyone else living in or around Charlotte NC? Join us in using the new tag so we can find you!

These look like....thick pancakes....and also like...Thomas' english muffin....half cupcake things

All of those are accurate lol

I love a bit of crumpet as they say in Britain...which actually means i like to make out. But regarding real crumpets, yes they are totally awesome, i love them with fresh fruit and sirup on top! Absolutely delicious. Or even just plain jam (marmalade). Speaking of marmalade i just made a nice post about a blackberry pie we made this morning which has freshly picked apricot homemade marmalade in it. You might like it, you can go ahead and read it here @govegan

I love it! A bit of crumpet... lol that's a new one for me.
Also, wow, that pie looks AMAZING! Welcome to the platform, and I hope you're liking it here on Steemit!

I need to say that it does not look like healthy food - Are you sure about that girl :)

I guess the term could be healthier than the other options...you got me lol

Glad you liked them.
If you want the authentic Australian experience, try them with vegemite :)

Haha, thanks! I'll have to try that next :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42