Salted and dried, a Filipino culture.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Found in a Portuguese supermarket a few years ago.

Our penchant for these food will probably kill us one day, but I can't see any sign of it abating, for Filipinos in the Philippines or around the world. Everything in moderation??

While on holiday in the Philippines a couple of years ago, a medical mission was conducted in our town. I was tasked to take the people's blood pressures and ECGs for the whole day. Half-way through, i was concerned to note that almost 99% of those present were having high blood pressures! 

Well done for the 1%

It shouldn't have surprised me as I know for a fact how unhealthy for us Filipinos in our food preparation. Not forgetting our social status nor our demographics in playing a part in our everyday life.

Surrounded by water, almost everything that we eat, anyone can testify are so salty in comparison to other nationalities. My previous housemate from Madrid for instance, lucky for me that I have adopted to her way of cooking that now I am sensitive to anything salty.

DIETS

Bagoong and fish sauce

We love "bagoong", similar to anchovies in the Western world. There's not a single household that doesn't have this or a fish sauce in its' pantry.  Fish sauce is almost used in every meal, in the Philippines and abroad. Just don't mind its' smell, the stronger the better. 

SHRIMP PASTE Anyone? The Southern Philippines is quite famous for this as one of their exports. Although not used in every meal, only a few dishes can be cooked using it. Filipinos locally and abroad associate it when eating raw mangoes. Raw shrimp paste can be bought in the supermarket, then cooked with lots of garlic, with or without onions and tomatoes.

Extra bites in between meals!

At meal times, always one can find an extra salty sauce on the side. Don't wonder if each person have its' own as one will make his/hers specifically according to one's preference. For example, some people will EITHER have soy sauce, fish sauce, vinegar with salt,  ketchup etc. Once made, only then will they start to eat!

There are a variety of concoction Filipinos can make.Whatever one feels like depending on the meal.

Any Asian restaurants, specially Chinese, you will see little saucers for dipping. As for sauces, there's not just one! Maybe not for Filipinos only then. Vietnamese restaurants I have seen having a couple of dips too in London.

A LOVE AFFAIR

Salted, dried and preserved.

Dried Fish

Loathe by foreigners, but for Filipinos, it is A LOVE AFFAIR! Although not an everyday occurence, a Filipino knows on when it's time to have those. It is something that we Filipinos can't do without. We CRAVE to have it. Probably this excludes the rich families but there are other preparations like those SMOKED.

Hypertension

Salt attracts water, that puts a strain to the heart and in the long run, HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE is the result. And among other things. 

Hypertension is one risk factor for heart disease. It can be modified.


All images are original and mine. Except for the top image, all were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Badge courtesy of @elyaque



Sort:  

@immarojas I love tuyo - with vinegar, garlic and black pepper for sauce !
kanin? kaya lng kc me aangal pag nagluto ako nyan sa amoy hahaha
last time ibinalot ko s foil tas sa fireplace ko isinaksak - psalubong ng friend ko gling bkasyon s pinas kmote ang srap lalo n dilis - kaso yung dilis ginawa kong Korean sidedish, honey at sambal with paprika & sesame oil ansarap 2 araw lng adik hahah

u can't have butter noh? it helps with the smell.
your sauce-making skill is coming out, right @bontonstory

@immarojas yes, I may just not a fan of butter
damn pimples come out if I do :D

hmmm great when cooking tuyo kc or any daing.dunno what can be used to help with the smell. lighting a candle isn't as effective.

@immarojas I barely have it - that's the 1st I had for 5 years :D
all pasalubong before the 5 years - I haven't been back in the PH.

Ph doesn't mind the smell, here the neighbours can complain to the council ;)

I like the way you linked the story to your medical experiences.

I sense a whole series of posts about national foods and the resultant health challenges coming from across our diverse community here.

Thanks! They say not to overwhelm people with medical mumbo jumbo.

I am with you on that - just like I avoid science mumbo jumbo for orchids. Also because I do not know any.

Haha well we've found our NICHE then without those boring expertise they're talking about.
If only I can explain how steemit earns then am all set :)

It was an interesting story. Enjoyed. Korean has a loft dried, salted and preserved seafoods and fishes. I make seafood ground with various dried seafood, and use it when cooking.

Thanks..i found this dried squid one time in Seoul airport, ground floor. Bought a couple as we don't do ours like them lolsss

Dried squid. I love it. Eat them with a beer!
Dried squid(with sauce Korean red pepper paste or mayonnaise) +nuts+beer.

White wine @bontonstory :)
Mayonnaise?? that's new!

How do I say?? Only dried squid and soju feels like a life. We choose some spicy seasoned foods, Kimchi stew and rolled-up eggs for accompaniment to Soju. When we have 'Samgyeopsal'('three layered meat' in Korean. Similar with thick bacons), people usually drink Soju. :)

oh i thought you can eat anything with soju ;)
Squid and soju! i will have that.

Oh nice! do u need to dip in both or one at a time?lovely platter! oh i like sujo? suyo?

I dip both at the same time. Suyo? Is it meat? or liquor?? You mean Soju?
I'll have a beer now. Guess what I'm going to eat? You brought them to me lol

Soju yes! a bit strong but its ok. the squid i bought was whitish in color.

Soju and dried squid? So cool! :)

why not??!!

You were talking about seafood powder before in cooking fish cake soup. you mean you made them? i almost start looking for them ;)

Yes, I use the powder when I make a soup. :))

Really interesting, love it!

this makes me wanna go home.. i'm feeling hungry..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45