You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #9 - Entry 1 : Winter Weed Salad - 15 wild plants - with foraging ID quiz

in #food7 years ago

@haphazard-hstead I was going around thinking no more entries, thanks for sending me a reply.

One..

It may seem silly to try making a salad from winter weeds.

No, it isn't. I respect everything that's practical . I didn't know that those invasive weeds could actually be eaten. We're all pretty spoiled these days we don't know food is actually just on the ground staring at us.

I only recognized dandelion, wild chives, spearmint, purple dead nettle(didn't know they're edible) and though I've seen the rest cause we just ignore them and think they're weed - not knowing that they could actually be food - I didn't know what they're called - you always give us something new to learn.

Good luck!

Sort:  

Thanks, @englishtchrivy! When I walk around my yard, lunch is staring at me all the time, lol! You recognized quite a few plants. Purple deadnettle is not my favorite for eating all by itself, especially once it starts putting on seeds. But it does fit in with a mixed salad just fine. A weed salad is a great example of the saying "the sum is better than the parts!" Happy New Year and I hope 2017 is your best year yet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77