You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #18 : Wild Weed Salad - 16 wild plants - with foraging ID quiz

in #food7 years ago

@haphazard-hstead the fun of the quiz .. earlier the ingredients were off so I was trying to guess while waiting lol

1- wild forget me nots?
2 - geraniums
3 - toadflax?
5 - cleavers
7 - cleaver's flowers? look like but doubtful at the tip color
8 - looks like cat's ears?
9 - wild arugula?
10 - dandelion
11 - chives?
14 - english daisy
15 - nipplewort?

damn I googled them wahahahha

anyway This is the last entry as of 12:35 am here.

Good luck!

Sort:  

I added that section, so you can compare. But I left it so you can try to match up the plants in the collage and plant list, with the ones on the cutting board. I'll check anyone's answers, if they want to try their hand at identification! There are so many great weeds to eat out there! :D

@haphazard-hstead nyah!
I answered based on the numbering on the chopping board - it's not the same is it?

Sorry for my stale, old reply, lol. I've been out of town, with many hours on a train with no internet! No, the numbers are not the same. The grid and the list go together. I will put the correct answers in an edit to this post. Here's the answers for the plants laid out on the cutting board:

Quiz answers - Here are the plants corresponding to the numbers on the cutting board pictures:
1=chickweed, 2=geranium, 3-field mustard, 4=arugula, 5=galium, 6=dock, 7=bittercress, 8=cats ear, 9=hedge mustard, 10=dandelion, 11=chives, 12=deadnettle, 13=lemon balm, 14=daisies, 15=nipplewort, 16=spearmint.

@haphazard-hstead your stale comments are always welcome
as long as you're safe thats what matters
yesterday I found a few weed.. do you happen to know one that looks like a tulip - has a bulb like a tulip but smells like garlic?
Hubby put them back in the soil .. after I diligently dug them up thinking I should check it out cause it could actually be food. I really think those were weed but thanks to your stale comments I got me an idea - I'll take a pic next time and bring them home to google and compare - he he

I don't eat any plant without knowing what it is. But Ramps, rampions, or wild leeks (all Allium tricoccum) have wide leaves that look a lot like tulips, but with a mild garlic-like bulb. Taking a picture is a good idea -- and I'm always up for a quiz, lol, even though I'm sure you have different plants from North America. These wild leeks are North American natives. But you may have elephant garlic (Allium ampeloprasum), too. They would have a big bulb right now, because they haven't split into their bug cloves yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57087.02
ETH 3064.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19