You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foraging for Wild Edible Mushrooms: Chantrelles

in #food7 years ago

It's nice to find another forager here on Steemit! That was a pretty good haul you got there. And with the dewberry bonus, too. Those bright yellow Chanterelles (Cantharellus spp.) are nice because they stand out so well! I wonder which species you have there. Do you ever find any of the Black Chanterelles (Craterellus cornucopioides)? My parents find them in Arkansas. Here's to more rain and more chanterelles for you this summer!

Sort:  

Arkansas has so many different chanterelles! My favorites are the tiny red ones that aren't big enough to eat, but they're adorable. We had a huge chanterelle flush in central Arkansas in the summer of 2014. Haven't seen anything like it since.

You know what I love about those tiny bright orange/red ones (cinnabar chanterelles I think they are called)? They retain their bright color very well even after cooking. My favorite use I ever made of them was throwing them in a white wine and cream sauce, the little pops of bright orange in the sauce made it look great.

Arkansas has so many great summer mushrooms, if the rain is right. The diversity is really incredible. I hope you get another great season like 2014!

I can't wait four chanterelle season this year. Last year was a bust for me because we got so little rain.

Drought and good mushroom picking don't go well together, that's for sure! It will be interesting to see if you get a great flush of them this year, because they didn't fruit last year. Here's to seeing lots of yellow all through your woods! :D

I am not good enough to identify the different subspecies of Chanterelle. I have seen at least 2 or 4 for sure, and there are probably more than that.

As far as the black trumpets go, no, I've never found any. I know of others in the area who have, I hear they are delicious, but I've never come across them.

It sounds like you are finding the cinnabars, too. So that's good. It would be fun to find them all and have multi-colored mushroom meal, lol. My dad's advice for the black trumpets has always been to 'look for the holes'. And I find that true. We're used to looking for mushrooms popping up, but the trumpets look like holes. It's a different mental pattern.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40