Foraging for Wild Edible Mushrooms: Chantrelles

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1380.PNG

Mushroom Foraging

Summer is the season to strike gold, golden Chantrelles that is. Chantrelles are an easy to identify Mushroom that grows in Oak and Hickory forests all over the northern hemisphere. They maintain a nice chewy texture when cooked and as such make for an excellent meat substitute in many dishes and can be tossed easily into a stir fry to make it a bit more filling while adding almost no additional calories.

Part Two: In which I use those mushrooms to make a spaghetti sauce. https://steemit.com/food/@jimithyashford/cooking-wild-edible-mushrooms-chantrelle-spaghetti-sauce

Sort:  

It's nice to find another forager here on Steemit! That was a pretty good haul you got there. And with the dewberry bonus, too. Those bright yellow Chanterelles (Cantharellus spp.) are nice because they stand out so well! I wonder which species you have there. Do you ever find any of the Black Chanterelles (Craterellus cornucopioides)? My parents find them in Arkansas. Here's to more rain and more chanterelles for you this summer!

Arkansas has so many different chanterelles! My favorites are the tiny red ones that aren't big enough to eat, but they're adorable. We had a huge chanterelle flush in central Arkansas in the summer of 2014. Haven't seen anything like it since.

You know what I love about those tiny bright orange/red ones (cinnabar chanterelles I think they are called)? They retain their bright color very well even after cooking. My favorite use I ever made of them was throwing them in a white wine and cream sauce, the little pops of bright orange in the sauce made it look great.

Arkansas has so many great summer mushrooms, if the rain is right. The diversity is really incredible. I hope you get another great season like 2014!

I can't wait four chanterelle season this year. Last year was a bust for me because we got so little rain.

Drought and good mushroom picking don't go well together, that's for sure! It will be interesting to see if you get a great flush of them this year, because they didn't fruit last year. Here's to seeing lots of yellow all through your woods! :D

I am not good enough to identify the different subspecies of Chanterelle. I have seen at least 2 or 4 for sure, and there are probably more than that.

As far as the black trumpets go, no, I've never found any. I know of others in the area who have, I hear they are delicious, but I've never come across them.

It sounds like you are finding the cinnabars, too. So that's good. It would be fun to find them all and have multi-colored mushroom meal, lol. My dad's advice for the black trumpets has always been to 'look for the holes'. And I find that true. We're used to looking for mushrooms popping up, but the trumpets look like holes. It's a different mental pattern.

I went back country camping in northen bc last year and we came across morel mushrooms. what a treat !

Oh I love morels, but they are only around for a few short weeks each year. You really have to be on your game when they start coming up. Get busy a few weekends in a row and don't forage and poof, the season is over.

With all the rain we've been getting in Pennsylvania this is looking like one of the best years ever for chanterelles. We had a Bumper Crop morel season already this year.

Our spring was a little dry. I got a couple of decent morel meals this year, but wasn't able to walk out of the woods with sacks full like I want to.

That was a nice mushroom hunt! I'm glad you were successful, too. It's more satisfying to get a big enough harvest to make a good meal, like you did.

You have been upvoted and resteemed by the Foraging Trail, a SteemTrail project. You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here. Including some photos and text would help people that have more limited bandwidth. And if you use the #foraging tag, it will be easier to find your foraging posts! Happy foraging!

tags? I didn't even know steemit had hashtags, I thought you just used the Tags line with your tags separated by spaces.

What is the difference between using "foraging" and "#foraging" in that bar?

Sorry for the confusion. The tags in the tags line -- that's what I was referring to. There's no difference with the # or not. It's a holdover from earlier versions of Steemit! Just have "foraging" somewhere in the tag list in the tags bar.

Well then watch for some new uploads tomorrow. Got three quick ones from this weekend.

Great finds! I want to go mushroom hunting soon.

Good old days when i was young and used to live in the countryside during my hollidays with my family. We always went to forage mushrooms or berries.
That feeling when you find a mushroom after looking for it for a long time.
My grandfather was alive at that time, oh sweet old memories..

Oh hey Sir.Tortoise))

Sometimes people don't know that some of the most specialties are found growing wild.

i love tripping mushrooms!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40