Roasted Brussels Sprouts Brown Rice Salad with Sesame Orange Dressing - Food Photo Shoot & RecipesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

After traveling for the past three weeks, seems kind of weird to be back in the food blogging routine again.

You can read about my recent travels here:
Gringalicious Travels to Santiago, Chile

Gringalicious Travels to Santiago, Again - Part 1

Gringalicious Travels to Santiago, Again - Part 2

Gringalicious Travels to Argentina, Villa La Angostura - Part 1

Gringalicious Travels to Argentina, Villa La Angostura - Part 2

And so much other stuff going on in my life. I have to say the break was amazing for me and I wanted to thank you for understanding the pause in my usual post schedule. I also could have done without that awful few days of being sick but I believe there’s a reason for everything and I’m choosing to look at it in a positive light.

So since getting home from traveling I’ve been on this major salad craze. Personally, I have no stipulations or rules for what the definition of a salad can be.

I feel like brussels sprouts earned a really bad name with the general population because so many people were forced to eat overcooked ones as a kid. You guys, call me crazy, but I love them. If you cook them right, especially roasting them, they can be delish. I also love having them on a salad because the contrast of cooked veggies with crispy raw veggies is so good.

Alright, I’ll step off my step off my soap box as soon as I tell you about the sesame orange dressing because it’s what really makes this whole thing work. I’m considering bottling it and selling it (no, not really). Have I mentioned that Asian cuisine is like my favorite ever? I didnt realize it until this past trip to Santiago when I literally ordered some form of Asian food at every opportunity without even realizing it, sushi, stir-frys, curry…… Yeah, I guess I like it a little and I really want to visit Asia someday.

Okay, so now I’ll stop typing so that if I’ve inspired you at all to try this salad you can go do that. Oh, and did I mention that it’s vegan friendly? Well, I hope you love it!

RECIPE

Yield: about 6 servings

Ingredients

2 cups brussels sprouts, trimmed
1 teaspoon olive oil
sea salt and black pepper to taste
2 cups steamed brown rice (cold if possible)
2 cups fresh spinach, washed and large stems removed
2 cups romaine or iceberg lettuce, shredded
1 carrot, grated
1 small white onion, thinly sliced
1/4 cups raw or roasted peanuts
1 large (ripe) avocado, sliced or chopped

Sesame Orange Dressing:
1 medium orange (juice and zest)
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
2 teaspoons chili garlic paste
2 tablespoons black sesame seeds
2 tablespoons regular sesame seeds
1 teaspoon mirin
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated

Instructions

Dressing

  1. Combine all of the ingredients for the dressing in a jar with a tight-fitting lid and shake very well. If possible make this up at least an hour prior to serving and up to 48 hours for really good flavor.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200C) and toss the brussels sprouts in a large bowl with the olive oil, salt, and pepper. Spread them out on a medium baking pan and roast in the oven for 30 to 40 minutes until tender-crisp. Remove and allow them to cool.
  2. Combine all of the other ingredients for the salad in a large bowl and toss until combined. Add the brussels sprouts and when ready to serve, toss with the dressing. Alternatively you can serve with the dressing on the side,

I HOPE YOU ENJOY!!




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

@gringalicious you got me at brussel sprouts!

I thought you might like it. thanks so much for commenting

Welcome back, my friend! Too bad you were sick, but with food like this I guess you will feel better in no time!

Thanks @susanne. The sick actually came back, I feel awful right now. But, I know I'll be better soon. Thanks so much for the welcome back and your continued support

Sorry to read the you were sick - and are still not feeling well. Maybe someone will cook some chicken soup for you! You do have creative salands -- and your salads show that they can be mostly anything. Roasted brussel sprouts would be good in that salad! Welcome home!

Thanks so much for the welcome home @haphazard-hstead. And as always, you have great comments.

Looks very tasty, I think I need to add this recipe on my to-do list. :) Thanks for sharing, @gringalicious!

Thanks so much @gamer00. If you give it a try, let me know how it works out for you

I sure will :)

Looks chic as always! You are well done!

Thanks so much @tanata. Always enjoy hearing from you

Looks amazing! :) And I totally agree in regards to the brussels sprouts! Very under rated ;)

Thanks so much for the compliment and for taking the time to comment

This looks very good and sounds very delicious....

Thanks so much for your continued support @homeartpictures. it is greatly appreciated

with pleasure...

Thanks @gringalicious! You do not have to talk me into brussels sprouts, I love them! And this salad looks very yummy. Honestly, I'm so very impressed by your culinary skills. Amazing!

You are always so kind, thank you so much again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39