Gringalicious Travels to Santiago, Again - Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Finally, I was able sit down and put together my post about my travels to Santiago.

IMG_20170309_155456449.jpg
Above Photo is of the Parque Arauco Mall.



If you would like a little history about Santiago, a really nice piece on it can be found at LONELY PLANET

IMG_20170223_082315209.jpg

Above Photo is of the Costanera Center. Tallest building in South America. Taken from in front of US embassy.


Santiago is a huge city. Of the 21 million + people that live in Chile, roughly 8 million live in Santiago. The geography and climate are very, very similar to Los Angeles, CA. Smog is an issue, so much so that there is a law being considered that no car older than 2012 can be on the roads in the metro region.

IMG_20170304_134355473.jpg

Photo above is my Mom & Dad's van, a Hyundai H-1 mini-bus. Diesel.


I went to Santiago this time with some of my family. My Mom & Dad, 3 of my sisters and one of my brothers. We decided to drive since there were so many of us. Sometimes it is cheaper to fly, but this time with so many people, driving was the cheaper way to go. From where we live in the South of Chile, it is a 10.5 hour drive.

IMG_20170308_110303352.jpg

Above Photo - Hyatt Place Vitacura / Santiago


My Dad hooked us up with a couple of rooms at the Hyatt Place. I highly recommend it. The rooms were very spacious and very comfortable. It's located in Vitacura which is a super nice part of town, very clean and safe.

HYATT-PLACE-SANTIAGO-VESCUPIO-09.jpg

Above photo - SOURCE

I wasn't able to get a photo of our room because we were always in it with luggage and clothes everywhere.

Breakfast comes with the room, so of course we utilized that as much as possible.

IMG_20170310_060332898.jpg

IMG_20170310_060302895.jpg

IMG_20170310_060244093.jpg



I was able to drink coffee and work every morning from the roof terrace.
IMG_20170307_111909176.jpg

IMG_20170309_131910728.jpg

Saw a couple of movies while I was there, Logan and Kong, both in 4DX. My review of Logan, well let's just say I wish I had those two hours back. Kong, it was entertaining, I'd give it a 6.5

IMG_20170307_193132360.jpg

IMG_20170309_155456449.jpg

Part 2 coming soon,...




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Eight million...​eish! Portugal has about 10 million!!
Liked to see that a big city can have so much greenery (it makes it a better place), but even though​ they deal with smog issues! Damn...

Yes, smog is a big deal in Santiago. This country is so full of natural resources and beauty, it is sad to see such pollution in the capital

Even with all those trees...hope it gets better in a couple of years!

Nice. I hope to get back soon!!
The best coffee in Chile isn't far from there. Check out Café Cultura. It's within walking distance of the Costanera Center.

Next time I am up there, I will check it out. I will say the coffee is an up and coming fad. I have confidence more and more good coffee is making it's way here soon. Thanks so much for commenting

Good coffee and Chile are pretty much antithetical. :P

There are a few notable exceptions. There are a few in Santiago and at least one in Viña too. Café Cultura is also a roaster.

Thanks for sharing this! Love getting these glimpses into other parts of the world... hope to make it to South America, one of these years.

I am going to Argentina this week, so you'll get to go there too!

Road Trip! Great post on your travel adventures. Looks like a fun place to visit, and LOTS OF SUN! Gotta love that part. I like the slice of 'reality of travel' as well, I have that problem x10 "can't take a pic of the room, my stuff is everywhere"...kind of a long standing joke with friends. Looking forward to trip part 2.

You are a talented commenter, Thanks so much for reading my post and replying with great content. Yes, the moment we walked through the door of the room, it was a mess. We had a lot of fun. Thank you Dad!

Thanks so much @doitvoluntarily, I always appreciate your comments and your continued support. And again, thanks for the nomination

Great pictures! I want to go there one day. It looks beautiful.

Thanks @susanne. How are things in Norway?

No problem. It's cold, but I'm still super happy to be home amongst my friends and family.

Home and warmth are always were family are, I totally see where you are coming from

Nice pictures and very interesting post!

Oh super, I am glad you liked it. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment!

That wasn't so hard, was it?

No, it was just a matter of finding the time. Thanks for commenting

Yeah i know, thanks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38