I baked a quiche, 1st time (It's pretty easy)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello all, I took a few chronological shots of my 1st attempt at a spinach, mushroom quiche. I have cooked for quite a few years, but have never tried a quiche. (They have always tasted good when purchased at various restaurants)

The finished product below:
quiche.JPG

I was speaking to a lady at work and she mentioned that she made quiche for lunch and told me how easy it was to make. Well, I went out and purchased a pie baking dish at TJ Max for $6 on the weekend just to try it out.

I do not eat too much wheat/flour, so I just made the crust with almond flour, coconut flour and oats that I made into a flour with a small food processor. I mixed them in the pie dish and just added olive oil to combine and spread out on the bottom of the dish.
IMG_1381.JPG

Saute a onion and mushrooms with olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper. Then add spinach and cook until most of the moisture is gone.
IMG_1380.JPG

Crack 5 eggs into a bowl, mix and grate your favorite cheese.
IMG_1382.JPG

Add the vegi's to the bowl along with the cheese and stir. Pour it into the pie crust and bake at 350f for 25 minutes, add some cheese to the top and place back into the oven for another 7 minutes or until you get some browning on top. (I turned up the heat to 450 to speed it up)
IMG_1383.JPG

Let it cool for ~30 minutes and start slicing!
IMG_1408.JPG

I brought some to work today with some quinoa and a side of green beans, it was a pretty good lunch!
IMG_1410.JPG

If you do not feel like eating some type of meat product, this is a pretty good alternative. It has eggs and dairy (cheese), but overall it is a pretty healthy meal. I would have it with something else as I think it does carry a bit of calories with the cheese...(Like some quinoa, veggies, bread...)

If you make it, let me know how it turns out! There are a lot of quiche recipes on allrecipes.com

Sort:  

Looks fabulous and quick to make @glennolua

Thanks for visiting, and yes easy to make and it tastes really good. It may be good to make 2 at a time as it's gone pretty fast.

Its seems delicious and i dont even like spinach

You can hardly taste the spinach in the quiche. The good thing about this recipe is that you can put in what you like, meat, veggies....

Looks really very delicious and yeah it's simple too. Thanks for sharing.

Yes, try to make it sometime, I'm sure you will like it.

I will try once I get a little more time. :) Thank You.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This post has received a 3.25 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @glennolua. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94