Bourbons: A Real Teatime Treat, or with Coffee in the Morning. So 'Chocolaty' and Very, Very Rich.

in #food7 years ago

These traditional British sandwich biscuits (cookies) have been a favourite for many years.  Everyone loves them, just mention the name to any British person you know and see the reaction.  I want to introduce them to the wider world, but not just any Bourbon, this baking recipe is the best and so delicious.  One is never enough, but you will struggle to eat two of these in one go.

I must warn you though before we start, this is not the easiest dough to handle once made.  It crumbles very easily so do not be tempted to add extra flour to aid the rolling out process, you will make the crumbling much worse. I roll it out between two sheets of greaseproof paper or two pieces of plastic wrap; this way I do not have to add any extra flour at all.  Persevere though, a little at a time; the end result is so worth it.

So, lets begin.  Firstly, the biscuit dough.

Preheat your oven to 375F (190C/Gas Mark 5)

Ingredients:

50g  (1/4c/2 ozs) softened butter

50g (1/4c/ 1 3/4 ozs) white sugar

1 tblsp golden syrup (light corn syrup)

110g (3/4c + 2tblsp/ 4 1/4 ozs) plain flour (general purpose flour)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 heaped tblsp cocoa powder , unsweetened (Do not be tempted to use drinking chocolate or chocolate powder, it is not strong enough; after all, you do want the chocolate flavour to be intense).

Method: 

1.  Cream the softened butter with the white sugar and syrup until light and fluffy.

2.  Sieve together the dry ingredients.

3.  Fold the dry ingredients into the butter/sugar mixture until well combined.

4.  Pin out until the thickness you prefer (Anything from between the width of a coin - 2mm to 6mm, it depends how thick you want your biscuit (cookie) to be.  I prefer two thin biscuits with lots of buttercream filling, it really is up to you).  Do follow the instructions above to make it easier for you to handle this dough.  Only use a little at a time to roll out, keep the rest covered with plastic wrap during rolling. 

5.  Stamp out your preferred shape, I like the daisy cutter so tend to keep it especially for these.  Draw the spare dough back up together and add a little fresh dough to it.  Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all the dough is used up.

6.  Place on a baking sheet lined with baking paper.  They will not stick and do not spread so just leave a little space between them.

7.  Bake until set, between 10 and 12 minutes depending on the thickness of biscuit (cookie).  Be careful though as they are dark biscuits and you cannot go by the colour to judge if baked.  Also, the biscuits will be quite soft when taken out of the oven, they harden as they cool so leave them on the baking tray for a little before transferring them to a cooling wrack.

8.  This will make a lot of biscuit (cookie) halves, so I bag up the spares and freeze them, taking out just enough for use.  Buttercream them frozen, they will soon thaw and you would never know they had been frozen!

The buttercream is as chocolaty as the biscuits, this is the reason they are so good.  It is easy to make and very delicious.  Not too sweet as the cocoa powder is unsweetened and really makes this taste so much of chocolate.

Ingredients:

50g  (1/4c/2 ozs) softened butter

100g  (3/4c/3 1/4 ozs) icing sugar

2 heaped tsp unsweetened cocoa powder (again, not chocolate powder, it must be cocoa).

1 - 2 tblsp of boiling water.

Method:

1.  Put the softened butter into a bowl (either leave the butter out of the fridge for two hours in a warm place, or blitz for 10 second intervals in the microwave, until your finger leaves an indent in the butter - not runny though)!

2.  Sieve into this the icing sugar and cocoa powder.

3.  Using a wooden spoon or an electric hand whisk, start to carefully stir the butter and sugar mixture together.  Once no risk of flying sugar dust, beat it until smooth.  It has to be light and fluffy so the more you beat it the better it will be.  An electric hand whisk makes this so much easier.

4.  Add a tablespoon of boiling water, two if the mixture is a little dry and beat well in.

Now all you have to do is sandwich two of the biscuits together with a great big dollop of chocolate butter cream.  You can pipe it between the biscuits if you want them to look extra special, but it doesn't really matter.  Let the buttercream set up a little before biting into them or you will 'squidge' out all of the yumminess.  I like to halve the biscuit sandwich and eat each half covered with lots of buttercream, uuuuuuum.  Do try it you will be very glad you did, and the difficulty of rolling out the dough passes into the background on eating.  Enjoy!

Until the next time, adios Amigos

From very sunny Almeria Province, Spain. (40C today)!


Sort:  

Thouse look delicious! I'll try to make them, thanks for sharing:)

Thank you. They are, just persevere with the dough, it will drive you mad to begin with, but the end result is soooo good. Do not chill the dough it will make it impossible to roll out. Enjoy. X

Thank you. Do not use this site as it has been stolen by @jennswall @finleyexp ! If I get it back I will contact you. Previous support most appreciated. A friend is posting this for me. X

This is a lie. The @get-baking account has not been stolen.

Absolute joke. These two recon I have asked them to do work of 5,500 Euros in 3 months. Not likely when I needed every penny to buy my house. I even sold my Audi Q7 car to do this. I am also an ex Applied Computer Science teacher and Head of Department. Why would I pay them to do this amount of work on Steemit development? I can and have done it myself. It really is so pathetic just to try and scare me into not persuing the fraud committed against myself which I am involving the police here in Spain. A full history will be my first post on my new site. I will forward it to all my followers. Please view this pathetic attempt to explain their actions. My replies below might interest you. https://steemit.com/scam/@finleyexp/warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies#@nannyjoan/re-finleyexp-warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies-20170626t191027239z . X

@inber The @get-baking account is being held in lieu of payment for services rendered from March 2017 to present. The outstanding debt falls just under 4000 euros.

I do not make it a policy to speak against others. I had continued to help this person even after the initial slander was introduced to the community of Steemit, but in this case I feel the need to defend these accusations with the proof that I have at hand.

Here is the link to the outstanding bill: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-jkKuiB-6vmR4I_UVDGijb3960dUrL37qjbtA8ZVZcw/edit?usp=sharing

Nice! Great steem! They would go great with a cold glass of whole milk 🥛 my parents were from Spain and they moved to Mexico and had twenty children. I definitely want to go to Spain one day put some pictures if you can around where you live.. Have a beautiful day! Peace and love

Thank you. I keep persevering but struggle to get much interest. Hey ho. One day. I love it here and yes I will take more pictures. Last night's post on Almond and plum tart has a couple on the almond trees, very beautiful. 20 children, wow. Lots of brothers and sisters to play with and feed. You must visit but stay away from the overpriced tourist areas, rural and traditional is best and that is where I have chosen to be. X

Yes I don't do tourist I do nature🌻 What are you up to today I'm going to work on my gardens then be lazy and watch old shows

Not really happy today. I took in two baby kittens and they are now bumptious teenagers. One went missing yesterday and the other is so missing him. Been out calling and driving around but no sign and 40 C today! Hey ho such is life. Supposed to be making sweets and candies for market tomorrow but really don't feel like it. Be happier when I know something. Glad you are happy. You can visit me any time, I have plenty of room as long as you like animals! XX

I put a steem about my family and there is a picture of my parents with 17 surviving children. Three boys died as babies typhoid fever and such

Will look for it. So sorry about the deaths. X

I rarely resteem food/recipes but these just looked too good. MMMmm

Thank you. Much appreciated. They really are, do try them. If you can get by rolling out the dough you will be in for a real treat. X

Thank you. Do not use this site as it has been stolen by @jennswall @finleyexp ! If I get it back I will contact you. Previous support most appreciated. A friend is posting this for me. X

How did that happen?

Thank you for replying.This link will go some way to explaining the cause of this catastrophe. https://steemit.com/life/@get-baking/life-it-must-get-better-now-part-2 . I have only posted through my friend, to stop others upvoting and commenting on my site, to the benefit of the two mentioned. They are the only two who had my passwords and could lock me out. They initially set me the account up as a 'fait a compils' and are now saying I have to pay them for it? What! Why when I used to teach IT in school would I need them to do this for me? I am setting up a new site and it took me all of two minutes! Why would I ask them to do paid work for me when I am chasing every penny to buy my house.....? Are they mentally challenged? Hey ho, I can always start again.

This is a lie. The @get-baking account has not been stolen.

@artwatch this woman is a con artist.

Absolute joke. These two recon I have asked them to do work of 5,500 Euros in 3 months. Not likely when I needed every penny to buy my house. I even sold my Audi Q7 car to do this. I am also an ex Applied Computer Science teacher and Head of Department. Why would I pay them to do this amount of work on Steemit development? I can and have done it myself. It really is so pathetic just to try and scare me into not persuing the fraud committed against myself which I am involving the police here in Spain. A full history will be my first post on my new site. I will forward it to all my followers. Please view this pathetic attempt to explain their actions. My replies below might interest you. https://steemit.com/scam/@finleyexp/warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies#@nannyjoan/re-finleyexp-warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies-20170626t191027239z . X

The @get-baking account is being held in lieu of payment for services rendered from March 2017 to present. The outstanding debt falls just under 4000 euros.

I do not make it a policy to speak against others. I had continued to help this person even after the initial slander was introduced to the community of Steemit, but in this case I feel the need to defend these accusations with the proof that I have at hand.

Here is the link to the outstanding bill: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-jkKuiB-6vmR4I_UVDGijb3960dUrL37qjbtA8ZVZcw/edit?usp=sharing

Absolute joke. These two recon I have asked them to do work of 5,500 Euros in 3 months. Not likely when I needed every penny to buy my house. I even sold my Audi Q7 car to do this. I am also an ex Applied Computer Science teacher and Head of Department. Why would I pay them to do this amount of work on Steemit development? I can and have done it myself. It really is so pathetic just to try and scare me into not persuing the fraud committed against myself which I am involving the police here in Spain. A full history will be my first post on my new site. I will forward it to all my followers. Please view this pathetic attempt to explain their actions. My replies below might interest you. https://steemit.com/scam/@finleyexp/warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies#@nannyjoan/re-finleyexp-warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies-20170626t191027239z . X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66188.19
ETH 3564.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14