Travel Blog 18: Travel Eating Like A Local at Tourist Hotspot, Khao Lak Edition

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello, fellow Steemit users~ Another day, another post!

Travelling could be frustrated enough from the travelling from places to another. Exhausted & drained. All you need is probably just a glass of cold Beer, chilling by the beach and definitely some mouth-watering food that will fix all your resentments.

Well, if you're one of them, stay here. This might be the article you need for your next visit to Khao Lak :)

Sneak peak~
IMG_2991.JPG

Shrimpy day again!

IMG_2897.JPG

Chang Beer by Khuk Khak Beach

For me, travelling is about experiencing the local culture, meeting people and also to have the most authentic eating experience. This time we withdraw ourself from the luxury dining restaurants but to seek for the authentic restaurant to dine-in. Then we came across a restaurant along the beach which is called "Pinky".

To be honest, we are pretty sceptical, "Pinky"? Seriously? But again I told myself, life is all about taking risks right. I picked up my courage and had a seat. That's when the miracle happened!!

Upon receiving the menu, the menu was extensive and some are even in Thai language. Out of our surprise, they are serving fresh catch seafood barbecue upon order. That's definitely a jaw-dropping menu. Never judge a book by its cover! Never!

So, this is what we got~

DSC04847.JPG

Som Tam, Papaya Salad

Before ordering, we said something. We want it authentic, make it spicy if you need. I was extremely glad they make it the way that they would eat it themselves! It's fiery spicy that my mouth was literally on fire! But, no regrets! I want the best that it could be. The sourness, spiciness, sweetness and the salty fish sauce were so balance yet the crunch from the papaya just added another dimension to it. Refreshing!

DSC04848.JPG

Barbecue White Snapper with Thai Herbs

There's absolutely no way for us to just skip barbecue! I had my eye on a restaurant which sells seafood, especially fresh seafood! Just look at the fish glistering with fresh grilled fish juices..Every bite of them literally melts in your mouth and packed with flavour from the grill and also the herbs. At first, we were wondering where do the herbs coming from until we realized that they stuffed herbs like lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves, gingers and garlic into the belly of the fish where the flavour sipped into the fish while it's being grilled. Smart!!

IMG_2991.JPG

Barbecue Shrimps with Home-made Garlic Sauce

I would not skip any chance of eating shrimps simply because they are delicious and I love it :D
Well, if you're wondering the freshness of the shrimps or it is frozen, it's easy peasy. Firstly, smells & taste. The shrimp should not have any stench. Secondly, it should be easily peeled. Thridly, plump shrimps show all the perfect characteristics of it being in the perfect condition to be consumed. The original taste without extra additives and flavouring, just salt is sufficient to bring out the best succulent taste of the shrimps!

DSC04849.JPG

Chicken Green Curry

You haven't been to Thailand if you haven't had green curry. That's almost a crime!
I absolutely love love love green curry. Many people told me, Green curry is known to be the spiciest curry among all because of the chillies they use are dangerously spicy. As an adventurer, that always trigger my button to challenge it. The appearance might seem to be calm and innocent, but again, never judge a book by its cover. That's the moment that I need a second beer! Haha~

It's spicy but creamy at the same time from the coconut milk, soothing and challenging. The tender pieces of chicken were cooked to perfection. Absolutely a great pair with a place of rice. Irresistibly good! Bites after bites, gone within few minutes.

IMG_2896.JPG

Sunset while rain was catching up

It is absolutely a perfect dinner where I called it, adventures with no regrets!

Disclaimer: All photos are taken originally while I am travelling to the place. Please do drop me a comment if you would like to use it. Thank you~

Check out some of my latest blogs at the link below:

  1. Travel Blog 17: Bangkok Part 3: Showdown for the Best Tom Yum Goong in all of Bangkok, Thailand!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-17-bangkok-part-3-showdown-for-the-best-tom-yum-goong-in-all-of-bangkok-thailand

  2. Travel Blog 16: Teppanyaki Madness!! Tenderest and flavour explosion Sushi at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, Khao Lak
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/travel-blog-16-teppanyaki-madness-tenderest-and-flavour-explosion-sushi-at-sakura-japanese-restaurant-khao-lak

  3. Cooking 3: Oreo Cheesecake Without Baking Recipe | Step by Step Tutorial
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/cooking-3-oreo-cheesecake-without-baking-recipe-or-step-by-step-tutorial

  4. Travel Blog 15: Bringing you on an absolutely Amazing Food Journey to Olive Italian Restaurant, Delizioso!!
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/travel-blog-15-bringing-you-on-an-absolutely-amazing-food-journey-to-olive-italian-restaurant-delizioso

Do share me some love if you like the article, follow me for more travel and food posts :D
Please excuse me if my post makes you hungry but I couldn't stop myself from sharing the goodness with you. Where it could be your possible travel eating trip the next time~

Guys, please check out Steemit Bloggers which is a community to help Steemians to build a better empire on Steemit!

Support Steemit Bloggers, help to spread the community. Together, we can be Successful!

Steemit Bloggers

For all the lovely girls out there, there's a group on discord that you could join where they spread much love in the community for you to join. There's where you find all of the love and support from our lovely ladies~

Check out: TeamGirlPowa
Join us at Discord! TeamGirlPowa

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

That makes the 2 of us :D :D

Oh, man! That green curry!

My friend calls it the "see-food" diet hahahahahaha!

HOHO! I love green curry with chicken, the taste is so distinctive from seafood. I find it not so well paired with seafood in curry because curry seems to be overpowering the freshness of the pure taste of seafood. But nevertheless, I am happy for the one that likes it with seafood :D

BEER BEER BEEERR

HAHAHAHA! Beer lover! <3 <3

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @explorernations to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I’m not hungry until your post pops up!

I am soooorry :D I am the so called alarm clock that reminds everyone to eat :D

Don’t be sorry at all! Just looking at them makes me happy.

@explorernations this was a great post and now I’m hungry lol. I love Thai food and I’ve always loved pad Thai which is a dish my sister and I share every time. Good for you for traveling and trying other dishes. Happy holidays!

Hey joo :D It's such a cool name you have right there! That's great, I love pad thai but I do prefer it to be more savoury than sweet but I am definitely glad that you and your sister enjoyed it :D That's my goal, travelling and tasting. That's the best way to understand different countries's culture. Same goes to you. Happy holiday and a very Merry Christmas.

love seafood.. these food looks so good!

It is extraordinary good, it's almost on par with most of the restaurant served dishes. I am so glad that I made such a great move to visit the shop :D

This is exactly what I need right now. Good food and a cold beer.

Go get it, girl! You deserve it :) I wished I have that too! The blazing hot sun here is almost unbearable. I need my cold cold beers too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47