Haggling at the Art Walk

in #travel7 years ago

IMG_20171219_185854.jpg

Apologies in advance for the UFO like artifacts on this photo. On Tuesday and Thursday nights in San Jose del Cabo, they host the art walk in the town square. This is a pretty cool event, with artists coming out and promoting their work along a central walkway where they also offer wine and live music.

When we went, I think we must have missed both the live music and the wine, as we did not see either. It was also a particularly windy and slightly chilly night. My wife chose to snuggle in the comforts of the hotel bed and make good use of alone time while the rest of us poked around.

IMG_20171219_182736.jpg

We started in this square, which you'll see has a a churro stall (that deserves its own post), a few stalls for selling art and jewelry, and at the very right of the picture you'll see what appears to be a statue but is a person pretending to be a statue. Yup. You know it's a tourist trap when you see one of those.

There's some interesting trinkets being offered. One is lanyard bead decorated art, where they place little colored beads one at a time to form a beautiful pattern along a wooden skeleton. Turtles, skulls, and other fun colorful trinkets. You can see a few examples by googling "huichol bead art" and you will get the idea.

There was another stall that featured jewelry made from scrap parts from a junkyard, and I was impressed with just how creative and beautiful the results were. Unfortunately I did not have pictures from that, and I wasn't sure if it was appropriate since some sellers do not like photo takers. But for example, they took the copper out of electrical wires to weave into a lattice.

In the end, one of the pieces of jewelry in one of the stalls caught my eye.

image-20171219_185406 (1).jpg

I knew this would be of interest to my wife, who really likes symbols in Buddhism such as the flower of life in the center of this piece of jewelry. So I immediately took a photo and asked if I should buy it. The offer from the seller was 450 pesos (around 23 USD). She confirmed that she wanted it, though she told me to haggle. I'm pretty terrible at haggling, and if she was there I'm sure she would have loved to do it. She's quite good at it too! I've watched her get a reading on the type of person the seller is and adapt her strategy to it.

But anyway, this time it was just me. I asked "Can you do 350?". Boring old me. Just going the 20% cut, and then meeting in the middle. And that's what happened. The response: "No. I'll do 400 though". And that was that. Later my wife said "Good job, for someone of your ability". Ah well, praise is praise, I'll take it. Good to try something I'm not comfortable with in general. And she was happy I got her something too.

Later I would hear that in some places you can really get crazy haggling deals. I don't think this art walk was the place for that, it's basically certain that all prospective buyers would be mostly American tourists with fatter wallets. Need to go farther out, and possibly for trinkets that are actually worth less.

So yeah, that was the highlight of the night, and I'm glad I can pick out something that my wife likes too. Anyone got good haggling techniques they would like to share?

Improve Nonstop with the Berserkers
Kickstart Votes and Discover Others on Steemfollower
Hop on The Steem Engine
Sort:  

Those breathing statues... we've got them all over Liverpool. They're nearly all Romanian refugees and they make a fortune. Wouldn't fancy standing outside all day like that though.

Good job, for someone of your ability

Hahahah

Haggling. Yes I've got haggling techniques. I was in Turkey this October gone. Haggle is the only way. I've seen so many people mess this up. My tips:

  • Do it with a smile on your face, enjoy the game
  • Decide yourself what it's worth before you even ask the price. If they say a silly-high price, you get sillier with your low.
  • Never go higher than half of their asking price.

Cheers.

Half! That sounds crazy to me. Does that depend on the location? Good tips, thanks!

I'm not sure about every location. I've only ever haggled in Turkey and Thailand. They were usually very open to it. If they weren't gonna give me my price, I'd walk away. That usually swings it.

That looks like a interesting place to visit. I like something with a bit of a vibe.
Haggling tip:
Cash is king and use it as a visual aid. I have bought cars etc and offered low prices. It is surprising how powerful waving some notes in front of someone is

Mmm the smell of money....

...for someone of your ability.

LMFAO.

I should have tried to haggle in broken Spanish.

that reminds of how I was trying to haggle in Mexico lol that flower of life pendant is really nice :-)

I tried the haggling thing in Hongkong and they just wouldn't stop. Haahah they won't let you go until they give in. Was fun though. ^^

I don't get it, the seller wouldn't stop? As in by the end you give in and buy it for higher than you wanted?

Or you mean the buyers and sellers are both pretty relentless hagglers?

Awesome gathering. Would love to have something like that here on my island! I'm no good at the haggling either so good job mate. Maybe I'll get to take a trip over to New Orleans soon and I can share some stories and pictures from the French Market there! Lots of haggling, lol.

Nice!! Love the art work on that piece of jewelry

Quiero dozentos muchacha! xD

Well done Eon, you showed her who's boss with that 20%!

In all honesty though, that just shows the kind person you are, and we're all glad you are like that.

Cheers!

Portuguese/Spanish mix? :P Thank you kindly. I would be amazed if I could get that price.

Although, I left out a funny bit in another instance where we were haggling and the buyer thought it was in pesos and the seller thought it was in USD. Yeah. Both sides were very happy until that realization -- Nobody left that exchange happy.

LOL! Juan's Conversion Center!

wow............ i like those tree beside the street that dazzling eyes and attention seeker more than the artwork on the street.

That's quite an amazing experience there pretty cool :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49