You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Make Kimchi (김치 ) My Way

in #food8 years ago

That looks very pedis (spicy) to me. :-) Don't like the fishy part. But it could do with vegatable broth insteed I guess.

And I saw that you could not find that shrimp pasta. Indonesia kitchen uses something that might come close to that, it is called trasi.

I think it smells and tastes very awefull. But Indo cooking uses it a lot. But in our Family is one Vegetarian so luckily no trasi.

I use sambal badjak a lot, even in Italian food. Not as Hot as oelek. Never tried fernenting food. New ideas, Thanks Ivy!

Sort:  

@oaldamster, yes, kimchi smells like a casserole - that's why I tweaked it - hub won't be able to stand it if it was the original version.
He loves this one, he often asks me to make.
There are many versions of kimchi and some don't need peppers nor fish sauce.
I'll try to tweak the "white kimchi" as they call it cause that one needs fresh young coconut milk's juice and that I can order in the Philippine product store here but surely - the readers maybe can't.
I tweak it cause it has to have the same fermenting effect - a proper one, otherwise it won't have the same health benefits.
You guys have fermented food, too - Ajar I think - it's called that?

My better half has Indonesian roots, I'm a blanda toto, hahaha, I'll ask her about fermentation. But I like to learn things that broaden my horizon. And I love experimenting with cooking. As Long as there is no Fish involved. :-)

Coconut Milk I buy in a can and I use it making vegetarian Soto, a meal soup. Gives it a nice smooth taste in combination with the mild sharpness of sambal badjak.

And now I stop writing about food for now, cause I want to eat again, while I just had lunch. :-)

@oaldamster - ah - hahaha I'll keep that it mind
No fish on the table for you ..
I meant buko juice :)
I looked for sambal badjak in AH last time you recommended it but the AH help said it was "op" .. i forgot about its name , now i do - writing in the agenda - hahahaha

This one, Koningsvogel brand, is perfect, it has no trasi in it, hahaha. Our daughter even did eat in on bread, when she was younger. Sometimes with cheese.

I bought the Sambal badjak at Jumbo's.

Selamat makan!
image

@oaldamster - I see, okay will be off to jumbo for a new stock of banana for the smoothie, will look for it.
Thank you for the pic, it's better to know which one exactly.
and Thank you for resteeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60937.94
ETH 3381.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48