New Study Says Skipping Breakfast Could Kill You Sooner

in #food5 years ago

There is said to be no current consensus on how many meals someone should eat if they want to promote optimal wellness.

There are some individuals who will consume many small meals a day and others who aim for fewer, larger meals instead. But it could be argued that constant, compulsive eating hasn't been seen to be correlated with good health.

While some people might say that the frequency of your eating really can determine optimal wellness, others argue that it's more important as to what you are eating during those times.

Recently, there has been growing interest for intermittent fasting and various biohacking efforts, where people are striving to promote longevity and wellness. But is eating less a good thing? We've all heard that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but now, more people are looking to skip meals so that they can attempt to reap the benefits of fasting.

However, new research warns about the dangers of skipping breakfast, suggesting that it might increase your chances of heart disease.

In the recent study, researchers surveyed over 6,000 adults, between the ages of 40 and 75. They controlled for things like socioeconomic status and body mass index, and used a survey over many years to ask participants if they ever skipped breakfast, then compared the answers to death records.

They discovered that more than 5 percent of the participants claimed they never ate breakfast and researchers concluded that skipping the first meal of the day was associated with an increased risk of mortality from cardiovascular disease.

For those who have been seeing the benefits firsthand however, of drastically reducing their consumption and engaging in intermittent or interval fasting, they're unlikely to be persuaded by this one encouragement to go back to not skipping breakfast. I don't know about you, but I don't feel my best when I have been eating food all day in fact, it's quite the contrary. Everyone is different though, and you need to do what works for you personally; despite what any consensus might demand.

Previous research has indicated that intermittent fasting can improve insulin sensitivity and blood sugar control, and that it can also potentially help to lower blood pressure.

I find it interesting that this study highlighting the important of breakfast, has come out now trying to reaffirm the importance of eating breakfast, when we've seen such a dramatic rise in interest for intermittent fasting these days. Maybe we can just add it to the others that suggest coconut oil is bad for you and that eating healthy should be regarded as a mental illness.

Pics:
pixabay

New Study Suggests Fasting Could Be The Key To Longevity

Sort:  

I have been intermittent fasting and skipping breakfast for 2 years now and I have never been healthier and more fit in my entire life including when I was in the military nearly 20 years ago, so I would have to disagree with this study.

The reason it is called breakfast isn't because you have it in the morning, it is because you are breaking your fast break-fast and although there is no set time limit to qualify for a fast I have found minimum 16 hours works great (the more the better) because after 12 hours the body starts eating fat and HGH is produced to help heal the body. There are a ton of health benefits to fasting with scientific research to back it up and not many for eating breakfast except more money for big food companies.

Just one guys opinion 😉

I have heard that fasting allow you to clean out the toxins and bad stuff from your body and you live longer. It suggests one meal a day...in the middle of your day. Thanks for sharing. BTW I bet the cereal companies would love the study. LOL Thanks.

You are absolutely right about everything you wrote! Don't let these stupid "studies" fool people.

I always say...
"Breakfast is the most important meal of the day...TO SKIP!"

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day...TO SKIP!

@dotivoluntarily thanks for this article presenting the conflicting opinions on intermittent fasting and breakfast. I read some things about intermittent fasting and have just started trying it. As an insulin dependent diabetic I've already been able to reduce my long acting insulin dosage. I always watch my carbs, so that hasn't changed, just basically going to 2 meals a day between 12 noon and 8:pm. It hasn't been difficult, and I'm thinking that it is helping me so far.

I continue to hear many good things about it from those who are doing it regularly:) thanks for commenting

I agree there is too much conflicting information about what to eat and when. I have learned to just listen to my body instead of following any diet. Everything in moderation including moderation itself.

Hey @doitvoluntarily, I stopped taking notice of recommendations from research a long while ago. One never knows the validity and reliability of the study. And the other bit of fascinating information is the contradicting evidence that keeps being found, like salt is bad for you then so many years later it is found that salt is good for you!

I have always heard that skipping breakfast is a problem. Now I love to eat, but it has never come easy to me to eat breakfast. I really find it odd!

I think eating healthy in general is really important over all. I like healthy food and I like to research some stuff before I eat it :) There's always something new I learn...
And breakfast? I looove breakfast :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86