Time to bottle the homemade rhubarb gin

in #food6 years ago

If you have followed me for a while you may of seen my post on making some flavoured gin with a lot of home grown rhubarb from the garden. If not check out the link below

https://steemit.com/food/@digitaldan/i-m-making-rhubarb-gin

Well I feel like it’s time to get this in the bottles to free up the jar for some other exciting food/drink experiments i have planned


Lets hope its been worth the wait

The first thing to do was gather all the bits together with the jar of Rhubarb gin, the bottles after been sterilised and labels attached and a funnel to make sure no gin was wasted through spillages 😅


Flip top for the win



I got these bottles from wilkinsons in the UK they stock a lot of great household and kitchen things but also have a great range of jars/bottles and containers for preserving and homebrewing. These will last a very long time no doubt but one of the reasons I choose these over reusing other glass bottles is the nice appearance will be handy if I wanted to gift/barter with them down the line

not quite two full bottles



I’ve ended up with a little over a full bottle and a half which isn't bad, I’s i had some cheese cloth i could of probably squeezed a lot more out of the rhubarb but that wasn’t an option this time (but its been added to the list of things to buy when i can)

Pink Gin!



The bottles really don’t do this gin justice its taken on a beautiful soft colour and im not going to lie me and the wife had a pretty good swig of this and the taste is amazing, it's not too sweet which is something I was really worried about from the original recipe and added a fraction of the sugar it mentioned, the taste of rhubarb is strong but not overpowering and should develop a little with time i hope. This is one i will definitely be doing again, and again when the garden allows

Safely tucked back up in the rack



Once they were bottled up i had to quickly tuck them back up in the rack as the temptation is there pour a glass and i don’t want to use them straight away.

I hope you like the pictures, the labels i used will be getting a mention in my next post or two when i start labelling up all the jars in the pantry and I’m sure you’d agree they look pretty snazzy :D


As always thank you so much for taking the time to read, upvote, resteem and especially commenting on my posts these small acts of appreciation and encouragement really help me to keep going 👍

All the best

Dan

Sort:  

Hi @digitaldan, the rhubarb gin looks interesting.

I host a radio show every Friday on MSP Waves called The Alternative Lifestyle Show. The show covers homesteading, prepping, homeschooling, tiny houses, renewable energy etc.

I wondered if you would like to come on the show as a guest sometime?

If you check my profile you will see links to recordings of previous shows if you would like to listen to one.

Hi @pennsif thanks for stopping by ill check out the radio show and see what it's about, and let you know if I can make it on maybe. Friday can be a tough day with work and communting home.

Hi Dan, that will be great if you can come along to the show.


Host of the My Life in 8 Songs and The Alternative Lifestyle Show radio shows on MSP Waves.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steemit Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-25T21:41:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 44.05/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Good effort . If you search on Amazon you'll see the gin there has tons of reviews. But you're getting it proper, !

This is such a brilliant idea! I'm going to have to try this one day.

That's really neat! I'm glad it came out so tasty!

@hethur240 thanks! im also glad it came out so tasty 😀

Howdy from Texas! this is very educational @digitaldan I've never heard of Rhubarb Gin! very creative and the labels look really cool, great job!

@janton thanks for stopping by and saying hello, im reallyed pleased with how it all came out 😀

I wish I had a few bottles of that stored away!

Howdy from Texas! this is very educational @digitaldan I've never heard of Rhubarb Gin! very creative and the labels look really cool, great job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59